Fiction logo

Joey

-

By Lisa HerdmanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
by Anastasia Shuraeva

Joey goes to war and comes back with nine children.

It sounds like a joke. Coos Frannie, large bracelets clanging on the diner table. She was prodding ice cream down into her glass with a straw, milling it before each sip.

My soda was cherry-sweet, fizzy. I tried to pay attention.

Twins, the ones he had in Korea, went missing. I nodded. They crossed the border to - well, as dumb as it sounds - play new arcade cabinets. I watched her long nails as she picked up a fry. That’s when I found you. I took another sip.

HistoricalShort Story
2

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Wow, the backstory that goes with this micro-fiction noir. Just sitting there with our cherry soda, trying to understand as her words whelm us with their casual nonchalance.

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Dear Lisa ~ I've missed you. You and Anastasia make a lovely team: I mean who hasn't Subconsciously Poked at our Ice Cream Float! Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal "Family" Community -

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.