Fiction logo

Endurance

Chapter 11: Jamie Convinces Michael

By The Freedom RunnerPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Endurance
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

Later in the evening, Michael is watching the news on television.

Reporter- The Chicago Marathon has two brand new champions. For the men, it is Great Britain's William Davis, III. Davis, a former Olympic track star, has just made his marathon debut today and won by just 13 seconds over Kenyan legend Sarki Kipkosgei. Davis hung around the lead pack just before taking the lead for good at the 40th kilometer. Davis finished the race in 2:05:01. Nick Daniels, the top American male, has finished seventh overall. He finished in 2:07:43.

Michael continues eating a bowl of Top Ramen.

Reporter- For the women, Kenya's defending champion, Alma Kiplogat, has broken the world record with an outstanding time of 2:14:17. She led this entire race from wire-to-wire. No one could keep up with her, not even her own pacers. The top American woman, Carmen Clarke, finished just shy of reaching the podium, finishing fourth with a time of 2:26:17. She announced that this could be her very last race.

Michael slurps a beer from a can.

Reporter- Also in distance running news, there are rumors of alleged doping violations involving heralded running legend and current coach, Paul O'Rourke. O'Rourke is best known for winning three New York City Marathons in a row, and two Boston Marathons, and he has previously coached Willie Davis in the Olympics. O'Rourke has coached many other notable runners, such as Adrian Dunne, the very last Chicago Marathon winner, and Katie Wheeler, a two-time Olympic runner in both 10,000-meters and marathon distances. Wheeler is also bringing up sexual misconduct allegations against O'Rourke, which if he's found guilty, could get him permanently banned from international events.

Michael- Geez... What the heck, man?

Michael continues eating his ramen noodles. His cell phone rings. He groans loudly before checking the screen. When he notices what's on the screen, his eyes light up.

Michael contemplates answering the phone, allowing the phone to keep ringing. Very hesitantly, he answers the phone.

Michael- Hello?

Meanwhile, Jamie is in her apartment, lying on her bed, staring at the ceiling.

Jamie- (smiles) Hi, Michael.

Michael- Hi, Jamie.

Jamie- How are you?

Michael- I've been better. How are you?

Jamie- I'm fine, thanks for asking. Michael, I don't want to be a bother, so I'll try to keep it as short as I can.

Michael- Oh, no worries.

Jamie- (chuckles) Okay, great. I'll just come right out and say it. So, Steven called me earlier, and he told me that he and Doug visited you. They wanted you to go see the marathon with them, and maybe come watch with me and Becky. We really had fun out there.

Michael- (shocked) Wait. Steven and Doug went to your apartment? Did you and Steven hang out?!

Jamie- (laughs) No, silly! Hey, you really think Steven and I are seeing each other?

Michael- Well, are you?

Jamie- Oh, goodness. No. Steven has a girlfriend already, and I doubt I'm his type anyway. Don't even ask me about Doug. Eww.

Michael- So, they didn't visit you?

Jamie- No. They wanted you to join them, and maybe all of us hang out with me and Becky at our place. Shelly did come over sometime during the race. That race was so much fun. I really wish you could've come.

Michael nods silently.

Jamie- Hey, didn't you use to run in college? Why don't you try running now? Why not be a coach? Trainer? I bet you'd really be successful doing those things.

Michael- I'm not interested.

Jamie- Can I ask why?

Michael- It'll just remind me of my bad experiences in college. I ran cross country in my senior year. We had a chance to win it all, but I got injured just before reaching the finish line. We lost. We didn't even make third place. I crawled my way to the finish line, and for what? To finish fourth? I let everyone down. Soon after that, my girlfriend cheated on me with the star linebacker. Everything just went downhill from there. I left college, and I never went back.

Jamie- (empathetic) Michael, I'm so sorry that happened to you, but this isn't college anymore. You can still reclaim the life you once had, and you can turn this around. I believe in you.

Michael looks up, holding his phone.

Jamie- I believe you can do anything your heart desires. I know running is still in your blood. They told me you were watching the marathon on TV, and you still have your trophies on your entertainment center. If you were really done with running, I'm sure you wouldn't have kept those.

Michael- It's not that I don't like running. I just don't want to compete.

Jamie- Why not just do it for fun? Michael, you need something that will bring you joy. Why not sign up for the next race? Steven and Doug will run with you. At least try it this once. If you like it, keep doing it. If you don't, at least you've tried. If you do, I'll be your biggest cheerleader.

Michael finally cracks a smile.

Michael- (smiling) Really?

Jamie- (smiling) You're smiling. I can tell by the tone in your voice. Well, Michael, what do you say? Will you give this a shot?

Michael sighs nervously.

Michael- Okay, I'll do it.

Jamie smiles excitedly.

To Be Continued...

SeriesScriptLove

About the Creator

The Freedom Runner

My series, Endurance, covers real-life situations that include love, romance, betrayal, jealousy, and compromising situations. My characters have interesting stories, and I hope you enjoy them.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • The Freedom Runner (Author)9 months ago

    Stay tuned for the next chapter.

The Freedom RunnerWritten by The Freedom Runner

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.