Fiction logo

Diary of the dark twisted and unlucky

CHAPTER 1 (THE BEGINNING OF THE END)

By Banji CokerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Dear Diary,

My heart began to pound against my chest, it felt like it was breaking out of my ribs. my lungs weren’t helping at all, they struggled for air, they too were trying to escape. The terror of my reality dawned on me as I wished for my legs to move faster.

They were catching up to me, God I was totally fucked!! I was definitely going to die today, or did I?

As I made my way down the alley, there was this huge man, but because of the sweat and tears that clouded my eyes he looked more like a gorilla, all hairy and scary.. It was definitely over for me, as I turned back for any signs of hope, there they were coming for my life.

They grabbed me and threw me into the trunk of their car and drove off. I could literally feel my soul dying as I slowly gave up on life. It was roughly about a 20 minutes ride when the rays of the sun attacked my eyes. The gorilla man pulled me out of the trunk and there he was, the reason for all this troubles.

We were on the third mainland bridge; my first question was why the bridge was empty? Where were all the cars?

Then I saw the bodies, three bodies, I could recognize them and very soon I would be one of them. But then again where was the police? I was definitely sure that god didn’t like me.

"Did you think you could hide away from me forever?" The boss man said walking towards me

"No sir! I wasn't trying to hide “I said as tears began to rush down my eyes

"Put him on the edge of the bridge" he commanded his gorillas

They grabbed me like a bag of cement and landed me on the railings, I struggled to find my balance

"Easy now, you don't want to fall into the water" he mocked

"Why don't you just kill me already!!" I screamed to the shock and amazement of everyone

Wait, what did I just say? am I going mad? I've been running away from death this past few weeks, now I'm demanding it?

"My pleasure " he brought out his gun and shot.

~

The banging on my room door brought me out of sleep

"Folarin don't you have classes today?" the voice at the other side of the door said while continuing the banging

I did have class today but I wasn't feeling well, I really didn't want to go to school. I just gained admission into the university to study psychology.

" I do, I'm almost prepared to go" I screamed back at the voice at the other side of the door

I staggered from my bed to the bathroom, splashed water on my face so I would gain full consciousness, went to the table beside my bed, took out my boom box and played drake's trust issues, as I went on to prepare to go to school

I got out of my room, about to be on my way to school

"Folarin you are not serious with your studies, your sister has left for school about an hour ago, why are you like this?" My mom nagged me

"He wants to turn to a DJ, with no future ambition" my dad chipped in

My parents have never been happy about my obsession with music, they hated the fact that I walked around with a headphone. my sister is adored by them, she is a stupid brat, don't get me wrong I don't hate my sister but she just had a way of being what people wanted her to be, showing people what they wanted to see, one minute she is a prayer warrior in church the next minute she is a shisha smoker in the club. Not that I'm saying that any of the things She does are bad but I hated the fact that people looked at her as one innocent being.

As my parents finished nagging, I walked out of the house and on my way to school.

I got to class reluctant, is not that I hate the course I'm studying but I'm a serious introvert and I hate being around people especially new people.

The lecturer came talking about all the school of thoughts in psychology, the humanistic, the behaviorist, the psychoanalyst and all other schools of thought.

But what caught my attention in the class was Abraham Maslow's hierarchy of needs, the way he arranged the needs were just mind blowing. From the biological needs to safety to love and belonging to self-esteem to self-actualization. And how I desperately wanted to reach self-actualization. I was definitely at the bottom of the hierarchy, and that has to change.

The class ended after two hours of watching the old man who called himself our lecturer speak. I was about to leave when this muscular guy with an oval head and a piercing on his ear stopped me

"Hey I work as a hype man at a club, I don't know if you know any DJ around who can play, the current DJ got a huge gig and is about to leave" he stared at the beatsbydre hanging round my neck

"How much are we talking about" I said getting interested

"40 thousand naira per month"

"Okay"

"So?" He looked confused

"I'm a DJ" I smiled

"Are you good?" He said with no apologies in his tone

"Yes, I will send you a mix, just give me your email and I will forward it to you"

"Alright then" he patted me on my shoulder and walked away.

Mystery
1

About the Creator

Banji Coker

i just like writing to be honest

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.