Fiction logo

Lilith's Blessing 8.5

Chapter 8.5

By Travis J. H. Published about a month ago 2 min read

8.5.

Kira clasped her hands together. "That night was amazing."

What is she talking about? Trevor thought to himself. His heart raced, and his mind blanked. He couldn't move; stuck, but warm. He shook his head, trying to break the cobwebs engulfing him. He didn't remember.

Kira, displeased with his silence, rose to her feet, stealing the blanket. She stood next to the fire. Trevor slipped his hands around her waist and placed his head on her shoulder. "I don't remember. That's why I don't like to drink."

Kira sighed, turning around; swung her arms around him, pulling herself close. She gazed into Trevor's eyes, starting from the beginning. "Meredith told me the council agreed to marry us together. I disagreed, challenging you to a fight."

Trevor pulled back. That was a lot to unpack.

"The fuck is the council?"

He looked at Kira and thought of Meredith and John in a different light. Was he manipulated into falling in love with Kira? Did they engineer the mana thing? What was their goal? Trevor fell deep into thought as Kira finished her story.

"You brushed me off like I was nothing. I waited until you were asleep and attacked. But, one second, you were asleep. Next, you were on top of me on the floor."

He smacked his forehead, embarrassed. Plus more to unpack. She attacked in his sleep? Trevor tilted his head. Kira placed her palm on his chest, then pressed against him. "You were a perfect gentleman. I could not be happier that I married you."

Trevor pushed her away. He felt frustrated. Was it all a lie? Fabricated to keep him in the city? Questions raced through his mind. The look on his face caused Kira distress. Unlike his usual kind eyes, they now resembled a suspicious lover.

"Do you not value me? Am I useless to you? Other than for sex? Do you love me?"

Tears fell down her face as she pleaded. He did not dare to look away as Kira poured her heart out. He reached to touch her, but she pulled away, turning toward the fire. "I dreamt. It's so real, I do not know how to explain it." She turned around, her eyes full of tears.

"Revy, do you love me?"

He answered, of course, he loved her, but she threw a curveball at him after the easy, fast ball. "Why Alexia? Why her?"

Her name had not crossed his mind in months. Did he say her name in his sleep? He looked at Kira, bewildered. She wrapped her arms around his waist, pressing her face into his chest. "I dreamed she took you away from me."

Trevor thanked the gods, dismissing it as a dream. Alexia was still in Simone City. "Plus, I would never cheat on you. Without your consent."

Kira balled up her fist and hit Trevor on the chest without force. "Only if I approve."

Trevor tilted his head. The comment did not fly over his head. Kira shifted her weight and tried to sweep Trevor off his feet. But found herself on the couch. Flustered, Kira pouted. "You are extraordinary."

Trevor hugged her. "The only thing clear is you. My past is foggy; the future is uncertain, but right now is present because it's a present. You, Mere, and John gave me a home, a family. If you were not here with me…" Trevor shook his head.

"Revy, I'm pregnant."

MysterySci FiFantasy

About the Creator

Travis J. H.

I'm a regular guy. In his regular guy era. I was born in Jackson Tn. Lived on a plantation until I was 10. Moved to Seattle.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    TJHWritten by Travis J. H.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.