Fiction logo

Crystallised

A Decision in the Snow

By Clara Elizabeth Hamilton Orr BurnsPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Crystallised
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I can smell the snow hours before it breaks free from the clouds. I always know when it is going to snow.

My mother said there was a touch of the fae in our family, and feeling the snow was part of this fae magic. It was this feeling that had me walking through the silence of the village in which I lived at 3am on Christmas morning.

I walked until it began and then I sat upon a bench and watched it blanket the world in white. The children waking soon would feel delight to see the winter wonderland outside their window.

I had stopped crying some time ago but the cold still hurt my lungs.

The dress hanging from my bedroom door was the same pure white colour as the snow at my feet, but I didn't want this life I had found myself in. I wanted the simplicity of the snow.

The moonlight made the ground glisten as if one million crystals were dancing upon the surface. I found it so much more beautiful than the man who was suffocating me, whose ring pinched my finger uncomfortably, who I was supposed to marry three days from now when the snow would already be gone, and I knew then, as I sat with the snow, that the path I had to take that night had crystallised in front of me. It was the path that would take me as far away from that man as possible, to freedom.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Clara Elizabeth Hamilton Orr Burns

"I was always an unusual girl

My mother told me that I had a chameleon soul

No moral compass pointing due north

No fixed personality...

...With a fire for every experience and an obsession for freedom"

-Lana Del Ray

Ride

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    FFFFRRRREEEEEDDDOOOOMMMM! Great story! 💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.