Fiction logo

Cosmic legends

Chapter 9 Small Town

By qiang qiang maPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

"Wait, there's prey!"

Wolfman paused, both ears shrugging as she gazed silently at a sparse jungle in the distance.

I also stopped and waited quietly to see what she had found.

Suddenly, she leapt up and sprinted forward, swooping into a clump of tall grass.

Soon, Wolfmann came back with a fat hamster in her mouth and a leisurely stride. I could see that the hamster's paws and tail were still twitching.

Wolfmann threw the hamster in front of me. The hamster was lying on its side, its body painting sharply, bulging, apparently still alive. But it seemed terrified, and did not rashly get up and flee.

"Wulf, you want to eat it?"

"I don't eat rats." I said with some disgust.

I turned around and continued on my way, not intending to wait for her to finish eating.

"It's delicious, Worf!"

I still didn't turn around, but I thought I heard the hamster squeak and scream.

A short while later, Wolfman caught up again, still hopping around behind me.

It was midday, and in the distance I could faintly see a high mountain range, cascading, hidden in a gray overcast.

There is a town at the bottom of the mountain, framed at the foot of the mountain, looks like it is at the bottom of the basin, small in size, but you can see the outline of a few buildings.

Gradually there were people on the roadside, some of them looked at me and Wolfmann curiously, some with caution, some showed hostility, all showed enough attention to our team combination.

Wolfmann was a little disgruntled, baring his teeth now and then, Wolf, Wolf had to scream twice.

"Be quiet, Miss Wolfman, they're just a little scared of you." I soothed as I walked towards the town.

The town was small, but the road was fairly spacious, allowing for two wagons to run parallel, but it was all gravel.

We saw a brave man's bar on the side of the road. I think they should be able to inquire a lot of information.

However, a strong man, muscular and with a shiny knife at his waist, stood out in front of the bar and stopped us.

He looked at me out of the corner of his eye with contempt, and then at the wooden knife in my hand, and laughed shamefully, "Excuse me, sir, the Brave Bar only entertains the brave, not kids who can only use toy knives, haha."

"Worf ...... ooo ...... Worf!" Wulfman was furious and wanted to pounce.

"Calm down, Miss Wolfman." I calmed the wolf beside me and asked the burly man, "How do you become a brave man? It's not like I have to beat you up, is it?"

"Hahahahaha, beating me up will only cost you an arm and a leg." The strong man laughed: "I see you are very new, so I will guide you a little. There is a magic cave ahead, as long as you can pass the first level, you will become a recognized brave person, this bar is open to you at any time, no one dares to stop you. Otherwise, no one can let you in."

"Oh? There's still such a rule?" I was a little disbelieving.

"Hahaha, what do you think these people come to Hero Town for, not all to challenge the magic cave, to become a hero!" The strong man explained, and finally remembered a sentence: "However, no strength or give up, lest you lose your life. Good luck!"

"Wulf! Wulfman doesn't need good luck!" Wolfman growled at the strong man, which followed.

I led Wolfman onward, to see just what the Devil's Cave was really like.

A child stood on the other side of the road and called out to me from a distance, "Sir, sir, Mr. Future Brave, may I have a word with you?"

I looked around to make sure he was speaking to me, and that's when I noticed him.

The little boy was dressed in shabby clothes, his hair was a mess, he also had a face full of pockmarks, his mouth was crooked and his nose was slanted, and he was also changing his teeth, missing two front incisors.

"What do you have to say?" I asked.

The boy wanted to come closer, but looked at Wolfmann and stopped at a distance, shouting loudly, "Are you going to challenge the magic cave ah? I have some information here, do you want to know? Just give me something to eat."

I fumbled around in the small cloth bag, pulled out a piece of steamed potatoes, and asked, "Steamed potatoes, do you eat?"

"Eat, eat, you just throw it over." The little boy said with a happy face.

I casually threw the potatoes over, caught the boy with both hands, and could not wait to nibble two bites, where there was no time to talk.

"Do not rush, I have another piece here, what is your name?" I asked.

"Mountain, mountain ...... sub brother, you call me ...... mountain on the line." The little boy muttered as he ate.

"Okay, Shandi, tell me about the magic cave." I saw that he had almost eaten, so I urged.

"The magic cave is said to have seventeen or eighteen layers. I know that the test of one to four layers is perseverance, it is best to wear steel armor and bring steel shields, otherwise it can not be defended at all. Five to eight layers of the test is diligence, to fire also to prevent cold. After the ninth floor to go to a few people, the news is not much. But it is speculated that the test should be broad and wise, what specifically needs to be paid attention to, no one knows."

I didn't quite understand what he was talking about, but also remembered some key words, such as perseverance, diligence, broad and wise, intuition tells me that these should not be made up by this child. Could it be that brave people need to have as many virtues as knights to be able to do so?

"What else?" I asked again.

"Uh, there's also a blacksmith store in Hero Town where you can buy some nice steel armor and steel shields, as well as weapons, but they're all very expensive. Of course, the most expensive is the potions, I know where there are primary potions for healing, do you want me to take you there?" The little boy added after thinking about it.

"No, can you tell me, why do people want to become brave?" I asked the question in my mind.

"Ah? It is not necessary to ask, of course, to become a hero, then there will be endless steamed potatoes, endless wine, and beautiful women, the bar has everything ......," the little boy answered with a longing face, as if he was already a hero.

"Well, it's all yours, little hero!" I tossed him the steamed potatoes in my hand along with the cloth pocket.

I led Wolfmann then walked a few steps forward, and was attracted by the strange sight in the small square in front of me.

It was a bizarre black hole, and I'm sure that must be what they call a magic cave.

The black hole was suspended in the middle of the square, a black ripple like a silk line, wrapped around the black hole, like a deep black hole in the tentacles.

People are far away from those black threads, afraid to be entangled in that thread in general.

Obviously, this town is built around this black hole, and I think the town is for these challengers who came here.

Wolfmann and I walked to the edge of the square, close to admire the bizarre black hole, those black threads have a unique attraction, every time from the front of the body will produce a suction force, sucking us forward.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.