Fiction logo

Cosmic legends

Chapter 8: In the company of wolves

By qiang qiang maPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

"You can stretch your neck that long, is that also a form of witchcraft?" I asked curiously.

"No, Worf, it's all said and done, it's flexion and extension, and all wolves tough enough can do it." She argued, her neck already almost back to normal.

"So you know a lot of people who know witchcraft, or rather, wolves?" I asked next.

She shook her head and said, "You're the first, Wolf!"

I didn't feel like I could ask anything else, and she stopped staring at me with malevolent eyes.

"Well, I'm going to Hero Town tomorrow, can you please not come back to the farm to hunt?" I asked, feeling no hostility from her, I wanted to communicate with her again and kind of repay the farm owner for staying overnight.

"Worf! Yes, but you'll have to take me with you."

"You're going to follow me? Why?" I couldn't guess why a wolf would want to go to a human town.

"You defeated me, you're strong, and you're a witch ancestor, so I'll follow you, Worf!"

"Okay, then you can listen to me all the time from now on."

"Worf, obey!"

I felt a little sleepy and went back to the warehouse. Wolfman followed. I was a little uneasy, still let her guard outside the warehouse door, and cautioned her not to bite anyone, and she was very good and agreed.

The next day, I woke up early in the morning and sat on the bed to recall the dream I just had.

"Shao Jun ...... Xiaojun ...... or Erjun?" I tried hard to remember, it seemed to be my name.

It was a university, and I was a college student. Just about to graduate, everyone is busy looking for a job, several brothers in the dormitory have a job, while mine has not yet landed, blame the damn profession.

I entered an Internet company to apply for a job. The position I applied for seems to be a game testing officer. What is this position? What is a game testing officer?

The memory is very vague, and it seems to be all in my imagination, and I can't remember anything else.

Suddenly, there was an alarming cry from the little girl Corinna outside.

'Oh no, it can't be that damn wolf!' My heart tightened and I rushed to the door.

Luckily, Wolfman was lying in the doorway, and she was looking up at me with innocent eyes.

"Wolf! The wolf! It's right next to you!" Corinna shrieked as she pointed at Wolfman.

"It's okay, she won't hurt you, she's my companion now, isn't she? Miss Wolfman!" I explained.

"Worf!" Wolfman responded softly and stood up, standing to my side, looking up at me and then at Corinna.

I reached out and touched her head, signaling to Corinna: this wolf is not in danger.

"Really?" The little girl looked at us incredulously for a while, then turned around and went back into the farmhouse.

It was a nice day, still not sunny, but it was no longer raining, and the sky seemed brighter.

I turned to the warehouse and took out the wooden knife, and picked up the wooden knife taken by Wolfman from the ground, and with a stroke of my hand, the guidance spell was activated, filling in the wolf tooth mark on it.

A moment later, Corinna held the grandmother out, and stressed one after another: "Really, really, you come and see ah ......"

"Old man, thank you for your hospitality, I should go now." I said goodbye.

While handing the wooden knife back to Corinna said: "Dad left you the wooden knife, you keep it, I made one according to it, I believe that Dad can also recognize it when he sees it."

"Really? Great ......" Corinna took the wooden knife and stroked it, cherishing it immensely.

"Eat your breakfast before you go!" The old man said politely.

"No, it's already very disturbing to you." I refused, and, I really do not feel hungry, the farm food is not expected to be much, or leave them.

"Thank you! Young man." The old man looked at Wolfmann beside me with deep meaning and said.

"You should!"

"Worf! Worf!"

"Wait a minute ......" The old man returned to the farmhouse and in a moment brought out a small cloth bag and handed it to me.

"A few steamed potatoes, save them for the road."

I did not resist accepting the cloth bag, although not very fond of eating steamed potatoes, still did not refuse the old man's piece of mind.

Thus, with a toy wooden knife and a small cloth bag, Wolfmann set out on the road northward.

As I walked along the empty path, I reached out and grabbed a bright ball of light, and the channeling technique was activated, absorbing the white light into my body, a warm stream flowing in, comfortable and enjoyable.

"Worf, what are you doing? Is that a strange wizard hand gesture?" Wolfman asked.

"I'm channeling these bright clusters, ah, well ...... just absorbing them into my body."

"What bright clusters? Why don't I see it, Wolf!"

"You can't see it?" I grabbed one of the bright clusters and put it in front of her eyes.

Wolfman looked at my hand, then at my expression, then at my hand, then brought her nose up to smell it, and finally, shook her head and said she didn't see anything.

I then realized that she really could not see.

I remembered that the bright clusters appeared only after I learned the guidance technique. They were everywhere, like a large clump of willow wool, and like a dandelion scattered with small umbrellas, floating everywhere, neither floating with the wind nor blocked by walls, and did not seem to be ordinary bright clusters.

But I can not explain to Wolfmann again, because I do not understand this bright mass, only that it can be guided into the body to replenish my energy. That's probably why I'm not hungry.

"Miss Wolfmann, the others won't be surprised to hear that you can talk?" I asked as I walked.

"Strange? Worf, why would that be strange? Worf!"

"You're a talking wolf, won't the others think it's strange?" I asked again.

"Worf! We wolves speak our wolves' words, and their people speak their people's words, at most, we don't understand them, so how can we find it strange?"

"But I can understand what you say!" I said puzzledly.

"You are a wolf too, I knew you were a wolf from the first moment I saw you, but you are a wolf in a sackcloth! Wolf!" Wolfman said as he jumped around me.

"So, no one else can understand what you're saying?" I confirmed it again.

"Of course not, Wolf, only wolves can understand us wolves, of course people can't understand, you're so stupid, it's hard to talk to you, Wolf!"

"But I can talk to those people, don't you think it's strange?" I asked again.

"You're a wizard, Worf! Of course you can talk to those people, but you're a dumb wizard ancestor, Worf. Then again it's okay, I've seen dumber wolves than you, I won't despise you, Worf."

"Uh ......!" I was so helpless, I didn't know what to say.

But I finally figured out that this wolf can only talk to me, and can't talk to anyone else.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.