Fiction logo

Comeuppance

Telltale crimson trail: part 8

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 4 months ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
10

Full of apprehension, I was kept waiting 20 minutes before being sent into the Captain’s office. He sat at that big teak desk, hands folded in front. Smiling.

"C'min John, C'min. Take a seat."

After a few minutes of schmooze, he got down to business.

Read Crimson Trail from the beginning

"That Section One you witnessed out at Woodland Road parking lot this morning..."

"Yes Captain?"

"I understand there were some… irregularities?

"Yes, Captain. Stupidly, I left the scene without signing out. I’m sorry sir, I have not been myself lately."

"Why I told you to take some time out."

I didn’t remind him that he had also just called me back in.

"Anything else you'd like to tell me?"

"Nothing sir, just to repeat my regret that I departed from protocol."

He nodded, stroking his chin.

"You carrying?"

"Yes, sir."

He held out his hand, accepting the service P224 I offered, grip first. I felt sure he was going to ask for my badge next.

Pointing the pistol at the far wall, he flipped out the clip, looked at it half negligently, before slotting it back in with his thumb.

"When did you last discharge it?"

"Never have, sir."

There was a long pause, as the Captain nodded to himself, sagely.

"What I thought."

"Problem, Sir?"

"Not that I am aware of." he replied, returning the weapon. He folded his hands back on the desk and took a couple of slow breaths, as if considering something.

"I’m signing you off for two weeks... medical leave."

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

Two weeks' medical leave for our (anti) hero? How will he use it? Will he try to work out his alibi, cover his tracks, convince Stevie and the Captain of his innocence? Has the Captain given him leave just to keep him out of the way, or because he suspects his top detective of something and wants to give him a chance to incriminate himself?

Read the next exciting episode: Well-earned break

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

Back to the beginning: Telltale Crimson Trail

thrillerPsychologicalMysteryMicrofiction
10

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    I had no ideas of where to continue after my take on the interview, lol! I imagined him just being held until they found the evidence or something...I like where you took it better. You have a solid pulse on the inner workings of a police station; I'm not sure I could do the right research!

  • Kageno Hoshino4 months ago

    My prediction for the next episode, https://vocal.media/fiction/ashes-to-ashes-34vt09l0 This will be my final prediction, because I feel like the next one I will write will kinda be the conclusion from the prespective of me, but I want to read the original conclusion before declaring mine

  • Kageno Hoshino4 months ago

    Got me thinking a lot at the end

  • John better use this time to clear his tracks! I want him to get away with this hehehehehehhe

  • Nice little development. I'm guessing the Captain is giving him two weeks off not so much for his mental health as to allow him to work out what he needs to work out. The Captain knows his losses & pain.

  • John Cox4 months ago

    Talk about leaving a suspect hanging! Still loving it!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Interesting...John must be stewing in his own guilt not knowing what's going through his colleague's heads. Nice episode, Ray!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.