Fiction logo

Well earned break

Telltale crimson trail: part 9

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 3 months ago Updated 18 days ago 1 min read
10
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Though I was supposed to be on leave for those two weeks, it seemed like I saw more of my colleagues than when I was working.

Read Crimson Trail from the beginning

"Hey John!" They would say, as they appeared at my door. "Just a few questions." So far nothing under caution.

They asked me about being first on scene. They went over my movements between my car and the body. I repeated my description of the perpetrator.

They asked about any drugs I might have found on the body and I said there were none, though I had noticed traces of white powder on the jacket.

Stevie was notably absent whenever these sessions took place. Otherwise, the investigation followed set routine. Known associates of the deceased had been interviewed and released, information called in by members of the public followed up. My witness statements had proved useful, they said, but had, so far, produced no firm leads.

They returned my car after what could not have been more than a cursory examination. There were some traces of cocaine in the trunk, they said, consistent with evidence I had taken from a homicide suspect a couple of weeks previous.

None of this should have been discussed with me, of course, but homicide detectives talk like schoolgirls at a slumber party. It helped to convince me that very little was being discovered that could incriminate me.

Then Stevie showed up at my place the afternoon before I was due to return to work.

"Can I come in?"

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

Why has Stevie gone to visit John at his home? What will happen next? Will John get away with murder or get his comeuppance?

READ the next action-packed instalment: Promising career

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

MysterythrillerMicrofiction
10

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham3 months ago

    Intriguing.

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Marvelous tension-building in this one, wow! I feel like you used to be a cop... So many insider secrets, it seems!

  • "but homicide detectives talk like schoolgirls at a slumber party." Hahahahahahahhahahaha that made me laugh! Also, that Stevie is so freaking annoying! Can you please kill her already?

  • Will Stevie Nix his sense of security? Or has she come to offer assistance to her partner & bff, perhaps even some intel on where certain parties responsible for certain deaths might be & when?

  • John Cox3 months ago

    The police settling into the routine of ticking off each potential avenue of investigation. But Stevie seems like the wild card. Maybe the cop who is so good, that she smell’s a rat before her skill set can run down the clues that John failed to consider. Really good storytelling Ray! Eager for more!

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Well written. No idea what’s next!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.