Fiction logo

Coincidentally Fireflies

The Butterfly Effect Or Coincidence

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 days ago 2 min read
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

For Belle's challenge here:

The music is "Fireflies" by Owl City

Coincidentally Fireflies

Riddle me this:

"Is the butterfly effect real, can the beat of a butterfly's wings in Central Park cause a Tsunami in Sri Lanka?"

This is a story to illustrate the premise that tiny things may eventually, by some kind of mystical domino effect, cause something to happen somewhere else.

Very often it is posited that there is causality when it is nothing more than coincidence. It is said that events are fated or destined when again there is only coincidence or luck.

Sometimes I can't stream a TV program because there is an issue, but the fault could be at many points from the source to the delivery point.

So is it my device, my provider's device, the cable supplier's delivery path, or the program provider's server? The thing is, while we do not know the answer, we do know that there is a definite path.

The butterfly effect posits that there are many paths that we are unaware of, and these can be followed in order to create events that we could never anticipate. Hence, the initial question that I asked in this post.

This is what happened to me:

Nightcafe ran a challenge and the prompt was "Fireflies"

So I created a picture and shared it on Instagram. On Instagram, you can share a piece of music with your picture but the music does not carry over to Facebook. The music I chose was "Fireflies" by Owl City, a wonderful song but I don't believe many people are aware of it, or maybe that is my ignorance of its popularity.

So then I went to the supermarket and that record is playing, which was a bit of a surprise for me. Again, it may be that I am ignorant of its popularity.

But it got me thinking did something I do set that record playing in the supermarket?

The Butterfly path is very clouded to me, but you start to feel that you have done something, but it may just be me mistaking coincidence for causality.

I do not think this is a riddle that can ever be answered.

If we can see the path we can show the causality, but if we cannot see the path then we cannot say where there is causality or coincidence.

Short StoryMysteryMicrofictionSecretsHumanity

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 days ago

    I love how you used this concept of butterfly effect for Belle's challenge! I loved it

  • Luv the concept, butterfly path

  • Michelle Liew8 days ago

    Beautiful.I think they are the prettiest insects on Earth!

  • Ameer Bibi8 days ago

    Riddle is so interesting But really love your insights How beautifully you describe each nook of the life

  • Staringale8 days ago

    The riddle is an interesting one. There is already a ton of arguments both in its favour and against it. The image you used here is lovely reminds me of a pathway in Disney fairytale (The Princess & the Frog). Intriguing read.

  • Christy Munson8 days ago

    Intriguing riddle. I'd offer more thought on it, but you've caused my breakfast to go cold by keeping me here at my desktop not eating breakfast and instead reading your piece for Belle... 😉

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.