Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Clock, Lamp, Figurine

For Mother Combs Campfire Stories Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
14
Clock, Lamp, Figurine
Photo by Jayson Hinrichsen on Unsplash

Clock, lamp, figurine.

9 pm.

No change. I need to get through the next three hours. I need to keep grounded.

Clock, lamp, figurine.

9.30 pm.

God, I’m hungry. No change.

I can do this; we just need to make it to midnight. Stay focused.

Clock…l-lamp, fi-fi-figurine.

10 pm

No change, but I’m starting to spiral a little. Who am I talking to? No-one else is here. Everyone is safe. I just…just need to stay focused until midnight. Then I can sleep.

Clock…figurine…wait…where’s the lamp?

Oh, phew. Over by the door…I don’t remember it being there, was sure I left it on the fireplace…oh well, brain’s getting foggy in my old age.

10.30 pm

Just an hour and a half to go and then we are free from danger for another night. I was nervous about being left alone at this time of the night. I need to learn to control it, though.

Clock, lamp…now where’s the figurine? The lamp is flickering a little and the figurine’s missing. Where has it gone?

Ah, there it is? No, that’s different…I need to stay grounded, or I’ll spiral.

11.30 pm

This is going much better than I thought.

11.59 pm

Clock…where is the clock? Oh…no.

“Oh Charles…over here in the mirror” I recognise that voice.

“Time to let me out...I have the clock! You didn’t think you keep me locked away, did you?” as his hands pull me towards the mirror, smashing my head in the process. We are one again.

Author's Note: This weird lil story is my entry into Mother Combs' Campfire Stories, which you can read more about below:

For more scares and weirdness, take a look at these:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

MysteryPsychologicalMicrofictionHorrorFableExcerptCONTENT WARNING
14

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock7 months ago

    Why is it always that last minute that gets us?

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    The tension in this is really well-written! I felt on the edge of my seat. Nicely Done!

  • Mohammed Darasi9 months ago

    Oh this was so good! And the suspense added with the time, and the "Clock, lamp, figurine" added so much to the story

  • That was soooooo creepy! And now I can't stop saying clock, lamp, figurine in my head! Lol

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Freaky and fragmented. That figurine knew what it was doing all along. Fine work!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    That was great, in a psychotic way. Well done.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Nice touch of psychosis! You cranked that one out pretty quick! Well done my friend!

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Really good

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.