Fiction logo

Clay, Metal, & the Olivewood Horse

A micro, ✨mythical retelling✨

By Gina C.Published 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
38
Image created with Midjourney

They say that Apollo--God of horses--once preferred Troy.

I lived during this time--when the sequential appearance of clay, metal, and olivewood secured favoritism among the Deities.

"Having all three is good fortune," they'd say.

Hopeful I'd become a demigoddess, Papa made me a miniature clay stallion.

"'Tis for your advantage, Lyra."

“Thank you, Papa.”

At eighteen, I succeeded in enamoring Demitrius: wealthy, strong--handsome as Apollo himself.

"Marry me," he whispered.

Overjoyed, I admired my new, shiny bronze ring--needing just olivewood now.

And that's when the olivewood horse appeared--which we took for a wedding gift from Apollo.

By midnight--however--we'd perished.

(Betrayed.)

✨The Trojan Horse✨

Microfiction
38

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    Cool! I knew Apollo was about the sun, but did not know he was also the God of Horses, which I can't believe I didn't know! So thanks for sharing this! 🐴💕

  • Poppy 11 months ago

    This is a brilliantly written story and the midjourney art is just gorgeous

  • Blue Moon11 months ago

    Amazing no words are here Claps.

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    I knew from the first line what this would be about. I don’t know how you always manage to weave together something so magical, but I absolutely love it!

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    🐴 You guys are all doing such an incredible job at these micro fictions on every topic imaginable! ☺️✍️ An Intriguing historical twist! I Appreciated your write up ⬆️ at the end Gina.

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Well done, Gina! I liked your twist on the tale. Makes for a very enjoyable read.

  • I've always found Greek mythology very fascinating and have recently found my love for historical fiction. You combined both of these and gifted me this masterpiece! I LOVED this so much!

  • Beautiful piece of historical fiction.

  • Kelly Robertson11 months ago

    You've made the history nerd in me happy 😂 great job on this one! Very creative.

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    A very creative idea :) I'd love to read a full version of your twist.

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    What an interesting spin on the myth! 💖

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    I love this twist on this myth 😍 Brilliantly done. ❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Excellent piece, Gina. And I loved the historian aspect of knowledge in your authors note at the end. 💖

  • ARC11 months ago

    Amazing work on this piece, Gina! Wow. Your Author's Note / Context is so cool. Love the creativity you put into crafting this. Highly enjoyable read, and even more fun with your background.

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Gina, this is so creative! I love your spin on the Trojan horse. It’s an epic tale yet you e managed to make it even more magical!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    This is so much better than good. It's a great take on the challenge and a great interpretation of the myth. Well done.

  • Thavien Yliaster11 months ago

    Dang, these people got betrayed by trying to win the favor of the gods that they cherished so much. It feels sad for Lyra, especially since she's believing that she's becoming closer to godliness, only to be harshly reminded of her mortality in one fell swoop. What one thought was good fortune winning them good favor only brought about their doom. Well, at least they didn't violate the rules of hospitality.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is fabulous. Well done, my friend.

  • Excellent take on the myth, love this

  • Stephanie Downard11 months ago

    I loved your take on this! Excellent writing! ❤️❤️

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Great story! Behind every myth there is an element of truth. When it’s tied to a culture and religion it can hardly be classified as fiction, unless of course one is from a religion opposed. Love this. 🥰

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Impressive!!! Loved this!!!💖💖💕

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Well, crap, having all three was not a blessing at all!! Loved your take on this myth and the added author's notes. Loved it from start to finish :)

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Very creative, Gina! I love where your imagination takes us!

  • Mohammed Darasi11 months ago

    A great retelling of the story Gina! My little brother loves Greek mythology (the Percy Jackson series got him into it), and I'm sure he would love this story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.