Fiction logo

Cindy's New Apartment

A Story Every Day in 2024 March 20th 80/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
8
Cindy's New Apartment
Photo by Nuno Alberto on Unsplash

"Well, this is interesting," Martha said as she saw how her friend was living. "It's more studio than apartment, I would say."

This was a reference to the fact that the only thing for decoration in the place was an unfinished canvas which Cindy referred to as "Blue". At least, Martha thought it was unfinished. She didn't like to comment as Cindy had been all over the place since she had moved out and ended her relationship with Ross.

"Yes, well, it's not much," Cindy explained, "but it is mine."

There was a desk littered with possessions: books, papers, a water bottle, old wrappers. Martha noted that the apartment was sparse but where there was furniture, it looked chaotic, disordered. The bed was a mattress and was unmade, Tracey Emin-style. A small kitchenette provided a place to prepare victuals and a door in the corner revealed a tiny bathroom. Martha knew that Cindy would have to stoop in the shower and could wash her hands whilst sitting on the toilet, such was its tiny-ness. It wasn't something that Martha would have considered a home but then she had not been through what Cindy had to extract herself from Ross.

"And I am happy here," Cindy said, looking directly at her friend and noting her concerned look. "Really." She smiled warmly and Martha felt relieved as she could see that it was genuine.

"So, what do you think?" Cindy spun around. "I even tidied when I knew you were coming," she said cheekily, knowing that Martha had already checked out the mess.

"It has potential..." Martha started but Cindy interrupted.

"It's a shit-hole," Cindy said and Martha laughed, the unspoken having been voiced, dissipating any tension that had been there. Cindy continued, "But this is all a wife escaping her unhappy married life can afford in London on her meagre wage."

Martha said, "Oh, Cindy" and went over to her friend and hugged her, holding her tight and trying to imbue her with some comfort and the warmth she felt for her dear friend.

Cindy felt emotional but not sad.

She had nothing, true, but the only thing that was blue in this room was the painting.

***

365 words

I seem to be writing a lot about unhappy relationships. The minutiae of everyday life, I suppose.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do leave a comment as I do love to interact with my readers.

80/366

Microfiction
8

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Love the lesson at the end. The only blue is the painting, and isn't that what matters most.

  • She should have known better if Ross couldn't make it work with Rachel as head over heels as he always was for her. And his specialty at the museum is natural history, not art. That &, divorce is kinda his thing. But a heartbreakingly warm (or is it heartwarmingly broken) story, nonetheless.

  • Tbh, I'd be so happy in that tiny place. I hate cleaning so the smaller the space is, the happier I'd be hahahaha. I just need a place to sleep and shower, that's it. I feel so happy for Cindy!

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    She was brave… taking the first step. Definitely the hardest. You captured those feelings so well. Great writing.

  • TheSpinstress2 months ago

    Unhappy relationships and their results/aftermath give us much more to write about, I think. There's a reason all the fairy tales end when the happiness begins! I love the tone of optimism-despite-the-odds in this story, and I find myself really wanting to know more of Cindy's story.

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    The bookend references to the canvas were a great choice! Really good dialogue too! You’re not the only one who has been on the bad relationship kick. It’s all over my subscription page! An attempt to balance out after all the Love Unraveled pieces perhaps

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Again this story feels real, the relationship between the women authentic. I have known a number of women over the years who were willing to impoverish themselves to get away from the assholes they had married. Really convincing and sensitively rendered. It’s amazing what you can do with so few words, Rachel!

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    I notice your theme to your everyday story creation 🥰I hope it empower someone ❤️

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    A first step is always messy. I like the way you captured that.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.