Fiction logo

Are we real

—-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
7
Are we real
Photo by ANTIPOLYGON YOUTUBE on Unsplash

Was it love or was it desperation?

Was it in the secret, tight spaces you held me so close?

“Are we real?” we asked each other often.

In and out of the catacombs of the museum that felt like a purgatory of hell, we wanted our freedom.

“Thresh!” I cried out as I ran through the endless liminal space. We've been trapped here in this museum-like prison for as long as I can remember. I felt like the first woman, Eve and you, Adam. I lost you as we tried to find our escape. I lost myself in the forever embraces you once gave me.

“Let me take care of you,” you’d whisper as we looked out the frozen window that burned us up.

Suddenly, I remember the man who told me how to escape, “It's the large white doors with the golden arches!”

The memory of Thresh’s strong shoulders around me as I run through the endless corridors keeps me from giving up.

“Why didn't he leave yet if he knows it's the way out?” the panicked thought runs through my mind as I hear your cry.

Lina!!”

I see the crisp air edging the golden framed door.

“Thresh!”

We were told we were the first of our kind. Truly the first Adam and Eve of technological AI advancement.

“We’re real,” you said right before we left to escape. I remembered when we pressed our faces against the frosty window that one day, wondering how snowy air kissed real.

LovethrillerPsychologicalMicrofiction
7

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    What is real, anyway? Hard to tell anymore. Great micro.

  • Whoaaa, this was so deep and had so many layers to it as well as a poetic touch! You wrote this so beautifully, Merly!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    I read this a few times, each time getting a different feel. You bring to mind how faar we have come and how far we have yet to go. This is a great set up for a longer story

  • They are, I'm not. I'm just a figment of your imagination. Good grief, do you have a lousy imagination! Seriously, this is the best you could do? (Yep, I've been using it for over forty years. My wife hates it.)

  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    Great visuals.

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    I’m not sure if I’m real though. Well written, enjoyed!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.