Fiction logo

Midnight Burning

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
40
The Midnight Sun (The Twilight Zone)

The midnight sun burned me up; I was up lingering in the faded ember of her deep, ravishing smile. That grand old time where I was truly alive. When my world was blanketed, coated, covered.

That soft, tingly, bone-in-chill sort of blanket.

That one sort of crystalline beauty that created a zest for seeing your own yells come to life in the air, puffy and white and full of playfulness. I'd lay on a hill and let the all the white become a better part of who I was, that crinkly and perfect form of water that I longed to keep in my heart.

But, alas, she was now lost. And the midnight burning lasts longer than I can admit, every minute on the hour. Every bleeding second of my everything, my seething vitriol and reason to keep existing in this hell on earth.

Do you know how you can sometimes still feel a limb even if it's been cut off? A phantom twitch, an imperceptible pinch of lost nerves, stealing away your sanity. Stealing away your very sense of time and space and energy.

That's how it feels now without her. Without the first burst of curled up brown, orange and red leaves collected into mulch, and that nip in the air that told us all the cycle of life was on schedule.

I can't cry. I can't move. The whole earth is burning up and all I can do is try to reach out and try to remember…

Stream of ConsciousnessMicrofiction
40

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Hyde Wunderli 3 months ago

    Amazing description

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    I loved this intensely beautiful piece.

  • Alistairpo3 months ago

    Great post

  • Gabriel Huizenga3 months ago

    This is incredibly beautiful, striking, and powerful. Thank you so much for sharing!

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Wow I can feel the urgency of this person realizing that it’s the end of the world. Scary but great writing. Congratulations on your top story

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Feels like the end of the world, seasons, life as we know it. Could mean anything, Prophetic and lovely. Congrats.

  • Ava Mack3 months ago

    Ah, the phantom twitch! I've also tried to capture and make sense of that phenomenon in my writing. Great job and congrats on TS!

  • Test3 months ago

    Tragically beautiful and so powerful 🤍

  • M. Lee3 months ago

    Nice one!

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Melissa this is astonishing. I got lost in it and felt every single word, phrase, sentence, paragraph. Well bloody done! Congrats on Top Story too!

  • Leslie Writes3 months ago

    Wow, amazing intensity. I can feel this one 😳🔥

  • Rao Salman3 months ago

    excellent work

  • hassen fraih3 months ago

    good

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Exquisitely written!!! Love this!@@ congratulations on Top Story!!@♥️♥️💕

  • Rachel M.J3 months ago

    Ooooh, this is gorgeous.

  • Oneg In The Arctic3 months ago

    Wow. This was so intense. Went from cold warmth to burning chills.

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Nicely done!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is amazing. I love how made a snow micro without ever mentioning snow...maybe because it doesn't exist. Very creative and well written entry. Excellent work, Melissa. Congrats on the TS.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Beautiful word description you painted a melancholy picture with vivid details Congratulations

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    Oh, Melissa. Stunning. 🥰🥰🥰

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    "that crinkly and perfect form of water that I longed to keep in my heart." My goodness, this whole piece was so beautiful, but I especially love that line. Gorgeously done. Congratulations on a much-deserved Top Story!! ❤️

  • This was so heartbreaking, emotional, melancholic and intense! I loved it so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.