Fiction logo

Appreflutter

When the flutter of excitement overrides any apprehension: /,æp.ɹɪ'ˈˈflʌtə/

By Teresa RentonPublished 7 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in the Neolomicro Challenge
16
Appreflutter
Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

We exchanged vows under the golden glow of an autumn sunset.

Or maybe we went our separate ways years ago?

Your goofy grin was my reward for throwing my arms around your neck and saying yes.

Or maybe you never asked, because I never forgave you.

I agreed to meet, despite the knots in my body, because hope was my only source of breath; because it swept doubt away.

Or maybe I ignored your texts and calls.

I saw everything because I froze. I stayed long enough to see you push her ivy arms from around you; long enough to see you step back, frown, ask her to leave.

Or maybe I ran, crumpled in a heap, vomiting out the image of a woman wrapped around you, her lips searching yours. She flashed long legs, long hair, and high cheekbones like VIP tickets for entitlement.

When you drew me towards you and asked me to come on tour with you, I didn’t hesitate. I want you by my side, you said.

Maybe I said, No. I’d just get in the way. Maybe you didn’t even ask?

Did you really notice me in that cellar bar? Where many doe eyes played lighthouses, watching your fingers hypnotise guitar strings.

Maybe I lingered a while. Maybe I indulged that flutter of excitement… not listened to the what if it all goes wrong? Maybe I took a chance on a cute guy in a band.

Maybe I just went home alone.

Maybe …

Short StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionLove
16

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexander McEvoy5 months ago

    Holy crap! And this only came in runnerup!? You're an amazing storyteller Teresa! I loved the swirling cocktail of emotions and memories and what ifs! It was amazing, truly spectacular Congratulations on your well deserved placement! This was a wonderful piece

  • D.K. Shepard6 months ago

    You captured so much turmoil in such a short piece! Great job!

  • Alison McBain6 months ago

    Powerful story. Congratulations!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler6 months ago

    Teresa, in just a few words you captured so much!!!! OMG, I love this!!

  • Brin J.6 months ago

    WOW, this back-and-forth was so well thought out and constructed. You turned the jaggedness of inner turmoil into a smooth language all of us could understand. I'm so glad your piece placed, too! & I'm excited to read more of your work 😍

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    So glad this placed, brilliant entry 👏

  • Wooohooooo congratulations!!!!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Yay! Congrats on the RU placement.

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Congratulations on the runner-up win!!!

  • I loved the push and pull of this. Such amazing work

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    oh, what a pendulum of emotions! This was a wonderful piece and I LOVE the word!

  • Made me think of all of the 'what ifs' in our life. Loved your word and story!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Your poem is creating appreflutter!!! Fabulous word and beautifully written melancholy poem!!!

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Smooth and beautiful flow of poetic expressions. My heart fluttered with your descriptive emotional energy and was apprehensive when you left us dangling. Maybe. Great word and entry. 🥇

  • Colt Henderson7 months ago

    Loved this. The imagery is great and the message is powerful!

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    "Where many doe eyes played lighthouses." That's all. What a line.

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    Very Clever. Excellent word and story.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    This is wonderful. You describe the nervous/excited feeling perfectly. Great word. Although at first glance I thought it said applefritter. 🤣

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Life is taking chances, maybe live a little. Nice

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Either way, the excitement...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.