Fiction logo

A Plumeria to Remember

For Mackenzie Davis' Official (Unofficial) Exphrastic Challenge!

By Paul StewartPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read
23
Plumeria by Davina Zinn McKee

I brought a plumeria with me today.

Sitting at the spot. You know the spot. Where we would sit. Where the sea air catches against the palms and filters down the long fronds and we would feel the chills course through our bodies. As I feel those chills flow through my body and shiver, I remember. I remember it like it was yesterday, the first time we sat there. The first time I reached over to you and pulled you in close to rest your head against my body. To warm you.

It was a short courtship really, by modern standards, but we knew. Didn't we?

That was the day I knew.

That day and that spot have always been important.

That was the first time you took the beautiful plumeria behind your right ear and placed it behind your left ear.

I brought a plumeria with me today.

The spot where we would look out to the sea. The spot where we would look out to the sea and imagine the adventures we could have. The adventures we should have had. Now, they are but memories, memories that are slowly disappearing from my slowly deteriorating mind.

I wish I could hold onto them forever.

You tamed me. I was a wild and uncontrollable thing before you came into my life. Full of anger, madness and uncertainty. You calmed me, claimed me and showed me love I did not know was possible. I had heard about it, read about it, but never really truly experienced it until I met you.

We had a good run, didn't we? It was a simple life, sure, but a good one. I know we both had our ups and downs and it was not always a bed of roses. Is anything in this life? When it came down to it, we were soulmates.

Perfect in its imperfection. While it's natural to have regrets about what we could have done and probably should have done, I am glad we shared this beautiful life together. Our life.

I brought a plumeria to remember.

The laughter and love we shared. Beautiful, raw and pure.

A life that is now memories in my mind. Memories I want to cling onto forever, but don't really know if I can.

That is why I am here at our spot, I think. That is what led me here. Thoughts of you. It's always that way. All paths lead back to you in my mind.

How many years has it been now? 10...15? I am not really sure, if I'm honest. Is that a terrible thing? Not remembering when the love of your life was cruelly snatched away from you by Death's crooked hands. Seems impolite at the very least. I am sure you'd laugh at that part. I miss your laughter. On the darkest days, that bright smile that could light up the world and beyond, is not there and it's so hard to go on.

So, I find myself at the spot. You know the spot. Our spot. At least I think it's our spot. My...memory is not what it used to be, I'm afraid. Seriously, I'm afraid that one day I will wake up and completely forget who I am. I fear it's already started. I want to cling on to the memories of you, us, myself.

That is why I brought a plumeria with me today.

Although I miss you terribly and know you would make me feel a million times better if you were here, I wouldn't want to burden you with what's on the horizon. No adventures in boats, no adventures across the sea. Only troubled waters lay ahead for me. In many ways, I'm glad you are shielded from it. I know you too well and know you would do every last thing in your power to ensure I was safe and well looked after.

This is a road I must take alone and I am, in many ways, happy you are at peace and do not have the trauma, the anxiety that I am now facing everyday.

I keep hold of this plumeria, to help me remember. I don't know how long I will be able to do it though.

I don't know how long it will be before I wake up and suddenly, the petals are blowing in the wind.

I brought a plumeria today to help me remember, but now, it has blown from my hand and is scattered in the wind.

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: 750 words on the dot. This is my (potentially first) entry into Mackenzie's latest challenge. You can find out more about it here:

I enjoyed this challenge and may well put forward another piece for it. The picture that Davina submitted and I was selected to take inspiration from, at first, flummoxed me a little. I am not one to back down from a challenge though, and wanted to play by the rules and stick with what I have.

I also decided to go against my usual thought process of murder and mayhem and stuff and wanted to try something gentler...but still unsettling...and sad in a different way.

As I didn't know too much about plumeria, I did some research and realised their significance and connections to Hawaiian and Polynesian traditions (among other things) so took inspiration from that.

Thank you to Mackenzie for the awesome challenge and thank you to Davina Zinn McKee for a beautiful picture to work with. I hope I did it at least some kind of justice.

MysteryShort StoryMicrofictionLovefamily
23

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Davina Zinn McKee25 days ago

    I never would’ve dreamed this story up, because I have my own associations with plumeria. This was unique, I like how the setting was used to conjure memory. Very bittersweet to balance how sweet the image is. Nicely done.

  • Congrats on your honourable mention for Mackenzie’s challenge 🤩… I love this poignant story featuring some of my favourite flowers ❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Beautiful entry, Paul... Making my rounds and reading all the entries to Mackenzie's challenge. I have to admit, you got a tough picture to work with, but you pulled it off. Well done!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Nice entry Paul!

  • Shamreena4 months ago

    Beautiful ♥️ 👏👏

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is beautiful and so heartbreaking. Great job.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Blinking Nora. This is beautiful, poignant, holding all the goodness and all the pain side by side. What I love is the evocation of how the person left behind holds the person gone, and in losing his memory, he has to let go of her again, like a second loss, but also a second death. And he's alone with it, there's no one but him there, no one who can take on keeping her present, he has to fully release her into the arms of the natural world, that holds and forgets at once, and the use of the plumeria to show that. Brilliant. But here's my tiny critique... The below sentence - "while...done" feels to me like it's only half a sentence, there was more to come. But it may just be how it reads in my voice. If I read it more dispassionately it's fine. Perfect in its imperfection. While it's natural to have regrets about what we could have done and what we probably should have done. However,

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    This is so saddening, yet in a bittersweet way. You used second person so masterfully. I felt like I was reading a letter someone was leaving on a gravestone. Funny you should mention your usual style of murder and mayhem, I was expecting this to take a turn and reveal that the writer had murdered the love interest😂. The ending we got was gorgeous though. My story was also exactly 750, I wonder how many other peoples will be haha.

  • So cleverly done & poignant. I adore Frangipani... I grew up with it in the tropics and love the fragrance.

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Oh man. Sad stuff. But I liked it. Beautiful flower and beautiful words.

  • Leslie Writes4 months ago

    Beautiful job crafting a story for this photo. Heartbreaking piece 💔

  • Deeply moving piece, Paul. You are indeed a multi-dimensional writer and able to shift between styles with ease. Take a bow!

  • I would say that you did it more than justice, Paul. This was poignant, tender, sad, intimate & all the more powerful for being so.

  • This was so SO sad. The downside of love, it's inevitable. This made me so emotional! A very Paulitical story! 🍩🥐

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I thought it was beautifully delivered...really a tender and honest wonderful story.

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Beautiful story that got me right in the feels, Paul. I'm glad you stretched out of your comfort zone to give us this gift!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Brilliantly written!!! Melancholy and yet the flower held an amazing super power!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    💙

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Well now, this is something, Paul. What a great read. The atmosphere is sublime, tragic of course, but encompassing in its heartbreak. The speaker’s reach for his lost love, the connection to the flower and its symbolism of his memory fading… This is poetic and gorgeous. That refrain…ahhhh. 😭

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Gosh this was so beautiful and so sad too. Phenomenal writing Paul.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.