Fiction logo

A Jilted Fedora

Won’t Say Farewell

By Real PoeticPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
12
A Jilted Fedora
Photo by Elijah Hail on Unsplash

You were my everything.

My first love.

I fit your head like a glove and gave you comfort. Why couldn't you appreciate my efforts? I played the part.

I listened to your problems...

Not once did I allow your troubles to affect my mood.

I suppressed my emotions to please you.

I won’t forget the first time I watched you get laid. I only ever did what I was told, and this is how I was repaid!

I need you...

Why won't you come back?

Do you not long to snuggle one last time?

Cause I do.

You must not, because you split us apart.

That dusty woman came into your life, and you let her ruin what we had. Once you received your hair transplant, you went away...

That doctor will get what's coming her way!

I never even got a simple thank you…

You’ll get your karma too!

I thought we had a real connection.

In fact, I know what we had was real!

At least it was on my end...

Why’d you steal it from me?

My reason to be.

I was there!

Guess I wasn't really your friend. I was just yours...

Tell me how you miss the way you used to grip along my edges and softly place me on top of your sweet head.

I sure miss the view from up there. And the fresh air flowing through my pores. The smoothness of your scalp was intensifying.

Being with you was never a chore.

I'm addicted to your scent. I crave it all the time. Every second.

I'm too claustrophobic to be in this cage.

Let me out!

You caused my rage!

When you tossed me aside, it felt like you never gave a damn. As if I never mattered. Like I never existed.

Well, I did. I mean I do exist!

I still exist...

I hate you for doing this.

You'll regret doing me so dirty and cold!

I’m heartbroken. Yet, I wait for you to return. You treated me like a misfit, but I was your perfect match.

We were attached.

I pray you didn't knowingly leave me alone.

Abandoned.

I gave you the confidence to leave out of your home, and you robbed me of mine.

Uh oh!

Why is the box moving?

Get me out of here!

Where are you taking me?

I'm sorry for complaining!

Was that the front door slamming?

The box is getting wet!

I hope I didn't upset you...

Is it raining out there?

Oh God!

I'm scared.

This can't be good.

The car is running.

The inevitable is coming...

I remember when you put a box in your backseat and drove your unwanted items to the bottom of the street to the donation drop-off.

I never imagined myself being next...

When did I stop helping you look your best?

How could you misplace me in a box buried underneath of your old winter coats?

Am I a joke to you now?

I carried you through when no one else

cared enough to see your pain.

I saved you from drowning in your insecurities.

I loved your bald head.

It was beautiful...

I accepted you...

Even when you couldn't.

Protected you from the sun’s ultraviolet rays.

Those were the glory days.

Oh no...

The car just stopped.

Your footsteps are echoing on the ground.

This is it.

Onto the curb I go...

No hats off to you ever again.

Short Story
12

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Such a desperate hat! Great tone here.

  • Steel3 months ago

    2ND read better than the first. Outstanding!!

  • I hope one day, the hat could take revenge! It'll hop on his head and squeeze it until his brains pop out!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Beautifully written. I felt so bad for the hat. 😪

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    💙

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    "The dusty woman came into your life" lol. That was one jealous hat. I loved how it changed its tune when it knew something unpleasant was about to happen. Nice entry!

  • It's a fedora, for goodness sakes! Was ever a hat so romantically & heroically named? Hair plugs are no, you don't just toss out such a marvelous piece of history.

  • Steel3 months ago

    What a great story !!

  • I never thought I would feel empathy for a fedora! What a rollercoaster! Amazing job!

  • Raymond G. Taylor3 months ago

    Oh no! Poor Fedora! I would never give up a good hat for a hair transplant. Terrific poetry. Kept me engrossed to the end

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Jilted... Nice!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.