Fiction logo

A Gift of Ice and Snow; Chapter 4

Chapter 4

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished 7 months ago 5 min read
Like

I blink at my ceiling. What an odd dream.

When I stretch my muscles ache in protest. It's hard to pull any memory from last night that isn't that odd dream, but if my muscles are this sore, Lydia and I must have danced the whole night, just like we planned. I look out the window smiling. Sitting through the placing ceremony was going to be uncomfortable, but it would definitely be worth it.

I study the sky outside my window. I can't see the sun, so it had to be later in the morning. If Ma hadn't come to make sure I was up yet, it was still a few hours out until the placing ceremony. That didn't mean I had time to dawdle though. Lydia and I had long outstanding plans to meet before the ceremony so we could make sure we got seats together. And if I took too long Lydia would hunt me down herself.

Walking over to my dresser, I grab my hairbrush, running it through my hair as I open the top drawer, eyes scanning over what I had inside. The placing ceremony wasn't something you wore a dress to, but it was still custom to look nice. I didn't want to look too nice though. It was bad form to be overly dressed. You didn't want to be the fool dressed like an emissary only to be told your calling was to remain in your home village.

I brush my hair back, placing the brush down. I catch sight of my reflection and freeze.

Ever so slowly, I turn my head to the right. I stare at my reflection for a moment before turning my head just as slowly to the left. I try to keep my breathing even, but my heart is starting to race. This couldn't be real. I had to be seeing things. Maybe this was just the result of some stupid thing Lydia and I had done last night, something she had done to try to cheer me up after Nia nearly ruined the night.

That thought does nothing to steady the hand I lift. My shaking hand hovers over my ear for a moment before I can bring myself to set my fingers against my ear lobe. Slowly, I drag my index finger and thumb up along the edge of my ear, feeling for any change in texture, some kind of a breaking point. Yet I find none. Not a single sign that what I'm seeing isn't real, from my ear lobe to the tip of my now pointed ear.

I can't tell if I'm breathing, but there's no mistaking my racing heart.

". . . Ma. . ." My voice is hardly audible, even to me. My next cry is undoubtedly audible.

No answering call comes. Ma had to be home. She wouldn't leave today until she was sure I wasn't going to be late for the placing ceremony. She had to be here still.

I whirl for the door only to have my heart come to a shuddering stop. Ice coats the floor of my room, still slowly creeping up the walls. My bed and desk are covered with a dusting of frost. No, no, no.

"Ma! MA!" I cry out again, praying that she had just been ignoring me for some reason before.

I needed to get out of my room. Somewhere in the back of my mind, I can hear a voice telling me that I shouldn't run on ice yet I can't stop myself. Miraculously, I don't lose my footing. For a split second, I can't help but wonder if it's because I covered the distance faster than normal.

Still no response from Ma, so I call for Papa. He wouldn't ignore me.

I can hear Ma calling my name.

I try to open my door, but the handle won't turn. It's frozen. Not that it matters, considering how thick the ice seems to be around my door. And it's only growing higher and thicker.

What was happening?

I manage one last shuddering breath before the tears start.

"Aspen?" Ma's voice calls softly through the door.

"Ma?" I lurch back to my feet, hands pressing into my door. "Ma!"

"Aspen, please unlock the door," Ma orders.

"It's not locked!" I cry in exasperation, dropping my hands from the door as frost begins to creep out from under them. Now it swirls gently in the air around me. "I didn't- I don't- . . ." How was I supposed to explain this? I didn't even know what was happening.

"Aspen, get away from the door," Papa calls.

Obediently, I step back, fairly certain I know what Papa intended to do. Sure enough, the impact comes a moment later. The wood groans as it cracks under the pressure. The ice gives surprisingly easily, crackling as it shatters, giving way to the door. The door's impact with the ground sends cracks racing through the ice on the floor.

Ma gasps, eyes flicking around my room. I don't think I've ever seen Papa look so shocked; not only are his eyes wide, but his mouth is agape. When their eyes finally land on me, the frost is still drifting around me in the air.

"I- I don't know what happened," I quickly sputter, helplessly lifting my hands. This only seems to agitate the frost, making it swirl faster. I drop my hands, but the frost continues to swirl at its new speed. "I can't stop it."

Ma slowly walks toward me, stepping gingerly on the ice so as to not lose her footing. "Aspen," she breathes, "Your ears."

"I don't- I can't- I- I- I-"

"It's alright, sweetie," she says gently, trying to soothe my nerves as finishes crossing the distance between us. "We'll figure it-" Ma hisses in pain, drawing her hand back. Ma stares at me for a moment as I stare back at her in confusion. "Are you not cold?" I shake my head, unsure of why she was asking me that. She slowly reaches out again, once again drawing her hand back as soon as she touches me, wincing. "Aspen, you're beyond freezing."

"What?" I figured the room was cold, but I just couldn't feel it due to the adrenaline.

Papa stops at Ma's side, studying me for a moment. He then reaches for me, with the same result as Ma. Then they share a look I don't like. One that says they're as clueless as I am.

"Why don't we talk downstairs?" Papa suggests, eyes quickly flicking around my room before landing on me.

I silently nod.

Ma's expression turns sympathetic as she reaches out for me again only this time she stops, hand hovering over my arm. I spare her from having to decide between risking another touch or drawing back by stepping back myself. Her expression becomes pained and she turns away, leading the way out of my room.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.