Fiction logo

Gilded Apples; Chapter 4

Chapter 4

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished 7 months ago 5 min read
Like

Of course, despite being at the largest mall in town with multiple beauty and makeup stores, we end up in the Fairest store. I'm dragged in before I can even protest. Celine and Nadia are immediately lost to me, enchanted by the sparkling displays. With no other choice, I let myself wander aimlessly around the store.

For the most part, it's split up by the type of makeup, individual collections within each type clustered together throughout the floor of the store. Yet for collections that span multiple types of makeup, they get full-on displays showcasing the entirety of the collection. In the center of the store, the seasonal collection is on display. Hair products are then along the left wall and side of the store, perfumes set up similarly along the back, and jewelry on the right with the registers.

I can't help but notice the center of the store seems to have a lot of boxes, a small circle of chaos in an otherwise perfectly organized store. Curious, I draw closer. It would seem they're switching out the seasonal display. So, this was the source of the chaos.

My eyes land on the sign draped across the boxes, then flicks up to the one still over the display. Slowly, they drop back to the one on the boxes. How mad did it make her that this remained one of their best seasonal collections and was still put out every January? Did it remind her of me, or did she just pretend it had nothing to do with me?

Winter Wonderland. A collection of whites and blues. Made to 'bring out your inner winter fairy.' Fairest's post-Christmas winter collection. An annual tradition at this point due to its popularity.

My mother had started it. She had basically made that entire collection by herself while pregnant with me. Both her and my father had then missed its debut due to being in the hospital as I had come early. I remember them jokingly referring to it as Eira's collection. When I was older, I had even been a model one season along with my mother.

"Sorry, but it won't be available until tomorrow," a voice breaks through my thoughts, startling me. "We're just getting ready to switch out the display after closing."

I turn quickly to face its owner. A woman with curly red hair stands behind me. Her gold shirt marks her as higher management. "Oh, no, I wasn't. . . I just saw the mess and was curious."

The woman tilts her head, studying me. She suddenly lifts her hands, thumbs and forefingers making L's, seemingly framing my face. "Look left," she says turning her own head to my left.

Confused and caught off guard, I look left on impulse. She steps closer, hand coming up to catch a lock of my hair, pulling it over my shoulder, giving it a soft curl toss before stepping back. "Have you ever thought about modeling?"

"What?" I look back at her, now really confused.

She offers me a hand. "I'm Josephine. I don't technically work here. I'm actually a talent scout for Fairest."

Manners take over and I take her hand. "Oh." A sudden memory pings through my mind. Celine and Nadia making plans to go to some Fairest event this weekend. I thought it was the launch of Winter Wonderland. Was it not?

"We're going to be doing an event this weekend. Open auditions for new models. Ms. Everly-Blanc wanted to pull some talent from the hometown of Fairest. And I think you would just be perfect."

"Um, thank you, I-"

"Here," she cuts me off, pulling a business card from her pocket. Where the pen comes from, I'm not sure. She starts writing on the card. "Consider it. If you do show up, and I hope you do, give this to the girls running the check-in. I really do think you could be just what we're looking for."

"I-"

"Josephine!" A girl wearing a blue shirt trimmed with gold calls out. "There's a phone call for you! It's from corporate."

"That's probably the call I've been waiting for. Do consider it," she orders sternly as she begins to walk away. "I really hope I see you again Saturday. Event starts at ten and runs till three."

I stare down at the card in my hand. It's a cream-colored card, the same color as a book's page, all written in brilliant, shining gold. Fairest is etched into the top left corner in its usual elegant script. Josephine's name is in the center above her job title, a phone number, an email, and a physical address.

Curious, I flip it over to look at the note. Josephine's handwriting is blocky, yet still elegant. I let my eyes scan over the note.

Priority candidate, send straight to screening - JM

Was this real? Had a Fairest talent scout really just tried to recruit me?

"What was that about?" Nadia asks, suddenly appearing at my side.

I lift the card. "You can see this right? I'm not hallucinating right now?"

The card is suddenly pulled from my hand. I look over to find Celine studying it.

"Priority candidate," she reads off the back. "Send straight to screening." Celine blinks, flipping the card over. She then looks up at me in shocked disbelief. "Is this for real?"

"What?" Nadia asked.

"A Fairest talent scout just marked her as a priority candidate." Celine passes the card to Nadia.

Nadia inspects the front before flipping it over. "Wow. What a turn of events. Girl, you have to come with us Saturday."

I blink, mind racing to catch up. "What? Why?"

Nadia waves the card at me. "I know they aren't your brand, but girl, you'd have to be insane to pass up an opportunity like this."

I quickly snatch the card from her hand. "I've never even considered being a model."

"Then think about it and come with us."

"Yeah. You'll get a taste of what it's like to help you make your decision," Celine adds.

I stare down at the card. I can't help but feel like this is some mockery from the universe. A chance to work for the company I should be preparing to help run and someday take over.

"Okay, if it wasn't for Fairest, would you say yes to at least coming with us?" Celine presses.

"Well. . . Maybe?"

Celine sighs deeply. "Just come and give it a try. It's not like you have to say yes if they offer."

"And there's no guarantee that they'll even offer," Nadia points out, ever the realist.

"Nadia, I love you, but I am trying to get her to say yes, and you are not helping."

Nadia shrugs. "She basically already said yes."

"Alright, alright. I'll consider it," I concede.

"I want my answer tomorrow at school."

"Tomorrow?" I gape at her.

"Tomorrow is Friday. Making the day after tomorrow Saturday. As in when the event is. And I want my answer before then."

"Fine. Whatever. Can we just go to a different store?"

Series
Like

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.