Feast logo

Why You Should Try HelloFresh At Least Twice

“A recipe has no soul. You, as the cook, must bring soul to the recipe.” – Thomas Keller

By Laura GrayPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Credit: me, my first meal made, Italian Chicken Over Lemony Spaghetti

HelloFresh brands itself as America's Most Popular Meal Kit, and after hearing ad after ad from many different podcast hosts raining their praises, I finally decided to give it a go.

Now, I should tell you that this will probably sound like a promotional ad, but that's because I've practically memorized the entire spiel. This is not a paid promotion and I am in no way receiving compensation in any form from HelloFresh (HF, from here on out) or any of its affiliates. This is simply my own.

When you visit the HF website, you're immediately invited to receive 16 free meals, as of the writing of this article. It's not 16 consecutive meals for free, but a discount that totals 16 free by the end of the promotional period. You can also skip multiple weeks, cancel, and uncancel without repercussion (believe me, I've done it countless times).

You can choose between 2 and 4 servings per meal, and even what type of meals you want to receive (healthy, family friendly, etc.) You can choose your delivery day and also donate that week's box if you so choose, though admittedly I've never done it so I'm not exactly sure how it works. I'm guessing just a name and address for the recipient.

With the first box, you don't get to choose what you get, unless you want to add another meal or add-ons, so choose your free box wisely. I was fortunate for my first box; everything was edible (picky eater here) and quite delicious! Although the food is free, you will have to pay shipping on your free box, which is only $9.99.

HF gives you nearly everything you need to become your own gourmet chef. Each meal comes with pre-proportioned ingredients in just the amount you need. For some things, like seasonings, they will give you extra to taste; the only consumables I've had to use of my own kitchen were: olive oil, salt & pepper, butter, and water. Everything else is provided!

You do need to have some items of your own: pots, pans, cutting boards, cookie sheets, a garlic press, and a zester. I have a cowbell cheese grater that was getting a ton of use but cleaning the tiny side was a bear so I finally went out and bought a handheld zester because I couldn't find mine.

My husband likes to order out. He's such a picky eater, and a scheduled meal doesn't always suit him so, while I love to cook, if he says "let's order out", I usually don't argue. Well, I didn't used to.

When I created my HF account and saw the price per box (3 meals per box, standard), I balked at the cost. "$69 is outrageous!" But then I got to thinking: eating out 3-4 times per week was costing me $35-50+ per meal! It didn't take long to convince me that HF was actually, pretty decently priced. And, that cost includes the aforementioned $9.99 shipping.

HF doesn't provide rinky-dink portions, either. As someone who likes to eat, I am ashamed to admit that I was afraid one meal portioned out wouldn't even be enough to stop the sides of my stomach from rubbing together. I was pleasantly surprised to find out how wrong I was. Some meals, my husband and I polish off after going back for seconds. Some meals, we are so full we save the leftovers for lunch the next day!

The meals are incredibly delicious, too. And to be quite honest, have had me making things I've never imagined I'd make, nor ever wanted to make. Because I was bound to eat the meals as the recipe instructed and not skimp because "I don't like it", I've eaten slightly spicy foods and absolutely loved them! The only thing I won't eat willingly to this day though is cilantro--no amount of money in the world would get me to eat that stuff willingly; it's the one ingredient I leave out when it comes with a meal.

I would whole-heartedly encourage anyone who asked, whether you love to cook or despise it, to try HelloFresh at least twice. The first time, while you will undoubtedly get a meal you find delicious, the second time will give you a chance to select meals of your own choosing.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Laura Gray

Coffee gets me started; my toddler keeps me haggard.

I've always had a passion for writing but fear has stopped me from sharing my work with anyone. Vocal is my push to step out of my comfort zone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.