Feast logo

Some More, Please!

"Summertime. It was a song. It was a season. I wondered if that season would ever live inside of me." —Benjamin Alire Sáenz, "Last Night I Sang to the Monster"

By Laura GrayPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Top Story - June 2022
3
Some More, Please!
Photo by Jessica Ruscello on Unsplash

Summer means a lot to me: swarms of bug attacks if I'm outside for longer than three seconds; sweaty as soon as I step foot outside; longer days; more reading light; open windows (until it's time for the aircon to come on); froggy pool/sprinkler time with my son; burning like a lobster if I forget the sunscreen; brushing my dog every other day and filling grocery bags with hair; and, s'mores.

You would be absolutely hard-pressed to find someone in my family and group of friends who doesn't enjoy a S'more. From the hard, graham cracker crust, to the ooey chocolate and marshmallow center; the simple, culinary confection just screams deliciousness!

It might be hard to believe, but I didn't enjoy my first S'more until I was in my late-20s. I think I'd tried it prior to then, but there was too much marshmallow for my enjoyment, so I swore them off for YEARS.

Then one day, I had a hankerin' for something chocolately. I lived with my mama and stepdad at the time and had all the fixin's for a S'more, so I decided to fire up the stove and toast a marshmallow. I stuck a fork in the soft, plush, sugary cube, held it over the fire, and let 'er toast. When it was slightly browned, I assembled the sandwich, held my breath and took a bite, and the rest, as they say, was history.

I. Was. Hooked.

Today, a decade or so later, I enjoy my marshmallows burnt. I would find out much later through complete accident that the best way to counter the marshmallowyness was to burn them. They don't taste burnt to me, but they're more melty and less marshmallowy.

A couple years ago, my cousin's son put a whole new twist on the S'more when he melted the chocolate before the marshmallow. THAT was *chef's kiss*. I didn't think anything could top that until I was looking for a way to make S'mores transportable for a church function.

I really wanted S'mores but knew that a fire wouldn't be readily available, and I'm sure the hostess of the get-together wouldn't want everyone standing around her stove, roasting marshmallows over an open flame, if she even had a gas stove. For all I know, it's a glass-top electric model.

I also didn't want to make a simple "S'mores Dip" because who knew if the chocolate would stay soft? For all I knew, it would seize before ever reaching its destination.

Grabbing my phone and pulling up my favorite search engine, I started the hunt for a S'mores dessert. A lot of what I'd discovered were very labor-intensive and while I don't shy away from slaving over a dessert, as a new mom, I was chronically exhausted and needed something I could throw together while my baby slept (he didn't sleep much, so this needed to be something fast!).

That's when I came upon House of Nash Eats' S'mores Bars.

These are absolutely amazing, and every time I make them, not only do I get rave reviews, they're also always gone! The first time I made them for that church get-together, I ended up not being able to go because the baby was sick. My husband took them and about two hours in, I started receiving texts complaining that they were all gone and the texter didn't get a chance to get any!

Chuckling, and a bit astonished that they were that delicious (sorry, House of Nash Eats for the slight doubt), I sent my friends and fellow church-goers the link, with promises to make more at the next get-together.

Without further ado, I present to you the best, most amazing S'mores Bars you'll ever eat!

INGREDIENTS

Graham cracker crust

  • 2 ¼ cups graham crackers (1 ½ sleeves, crushed)
  • ⅔ cup salted butter, melted
  • ⅓ cup granulated sugar

Cookie top

  • 1 cup salted butter, softened
  • ¾ cup granulated sugar (150g)
  • ¾ cup packed brown sugar (150g)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour, scooped and leveled (317g)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 cups miniature marshmallows divided
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 3 Hershey bars broken up

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, mix together the graham cracker crumbs, melted butter, and sugar using a fork, then press the crumb mixture into the bottom of a 13×9-inch rectangular greased baking dish. Bake for 7 minutes, then remove from oven and allow to cool slightly.
  • Meanwhile, cream the butter and sugars together. Add in eggs and vanilla and beat well until light and creamy. Stir in flour, salt and baking soda just until combined. Then mix in the chocolate chips and 2 cups of the marshmallows by hand.
  • Carefully spread cookie mixture over the graham cracker crust by dropping spoonfuls of batter evenly around the dish and then gently pressing it together so you aren't disturbing the graham cracker crust beneath.
  • Bake for 18 minutes at 350 degrees, then quickly remove from the oven, top with broken pieces of Hershey Bars and sprinkle with remaining 1 cup marshmallows. Return to oven to finish baking. Bake 9-11 minutes more, until golden brown on top. The center should be mostly set but still just a little undercooked. Don't overcook - you want to eat these just a little on a the gooey side, trust me.
  • Remove and allow to cool completely before cutting and serving.

Now, excuse me while I go make s'more!

recipe
3

About the Creator

Laura Gray

Coffee gets me started; my toddler keeps me haggard.

I've always had a passion for writing but fear has stopped me from sharing my work with anyone. Vocal is my push to step out of my comfort zone.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.