Feast logo

Whatever Makes Your Soul Sing, You’ll Find at the Bean!

Breve ⱷ Decaf ⱷ Cortado ⱷ Gibraltar ⱷ Nitro

By Kristen ReneePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Here I made a person made of coffee beans - "A Human Bean"

“Knowing is half the battle.” –G. I. Joe

I start by saying, I have an addiction to coffee and I am aware of it. I drink coffee most of the time. I don’t drink much water, and I’m not too big on soda and tea. I do like a cold glass of juice from time to time, but mostly it’s all about coffee.

"My Birth Stone is a Coffee Bean"

I love everything about coffee; the smell, the taste, and that it can be hot or cold. I have a twelve cup coffee pot and a teal Keurig. Oh, and there is a whistling tea pot for the times I have to use instant coffee. There is also a small stockpile of coffee cups. I have some that hold a little coffee, some that hold a grip of coffee, and I have a few that are for keeping iced coffee iced.

Now, I know that everyone is different but I can’t stand black coffee. I am the person that needs sugar and creamer. I don’t use fake sweetener and milk. My favorite creamer is the white chocolate raspberry, though I will use French vanilla if I have too. I can drink up to two pots of coffee in a day. There is also a ton of places outside of my house to get coffee.

My soul waiting for coffee.

Bullhead City has several coffee shops. It is a bit much to be honest. Let’s see, there are five Starbucks, three Human Beans, one Dutch Brothers, and seven family owned ones. I’m not going to lie, I used to be Starbucks girl. However, a few years ago they changed the beans they use and not in a good way. So, usually, on the price scale of coffee beans the cheaper beans are cheap because they are roasted for less time. The beans hold onto their acids because their inner oils don’t dry all the way. Coffee can also be bitter for this reason, causing heartburn and stomach ache. This is why I had to stop drinking all of their products.

Breve ⱷ Decaf ⱷ Cortado ⱷ Gibraltar ⱷ Nitro

Human Bean Comes to Town

Excited was an understatement when I heard that Human Bean was building in Bullhead. Human Bean is a locally owned and family operated business. They have locations in Bullhead City, Kingman, and Lake Havasu. I had heard really good things about them from a lot of friends.

Bullhead Cities 1st Human Bean and Menu

I waited for about a week for the never ending line to go down, I only waited about forty minutes for my first cup of love. When I try a new coffee place I always start with a medium iced blended mocha, no whip, and double blended. I was addicted at first sip! The coffee is rich, full bodied, and smooth. This means they use a good quality bean. From the mocha I went on to try: caramel, raspberry, salted caramel, and black cherry. The salted caramel is by far my favorite and then the black cherry.

Frozen Espresso made by Human Bean & Created by Me

“A penny saved is a penny earned.” I really think that Starbucks should look into this quote. I mean, come on, they went off and changed the beans they use and didn’t change the price to match the quality. Think about it, Starbucks had done nothing but increase their price and decrease the quality of the product. For eight dollars at Starbucks I could get a twenty-ounce coffee that would hurt my stomach; take that same eight dollars to Human Bean and I get a thirty-two-ounce coffee made with high quality ingredients.

Two menus, app greeting picture, Status Levels, Gift Cards, and Loyalty Rewards

Just wait, Human Bean gets even cooler. Human Bean has a three level reward system. Silver status is first. This level gives a free birthday drink, double points Wednesdays, and five dollars off for every fifty-five dollars spent. Next is gold status. With this level comes all of silver levels perks plus invites to special promotions and friend referral bonuses. Finally, is platinum status. This is the level that I have reached. I get all of perks from the silver and gold levels plus more; six dollars for every fifty-five spent, free drink on platinum level anniversary, and a free drink on my app anniversary date.

I love blended coffees!

I reached platinum status a few months ago. I go to the Human Bear nearest my house so often that they know the car. I can send my husband to get me coffee and the barista knows the order before he can start talking. ~ 32 ounce salted caramel blended espresso, double blended, no whip, and yes to the bean(s). ~

Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans

Chocolate covered espresso beans are amazing in general. They are one of my favorite chocolate snacks. Human Bean has the best chocolate covered espresso beans I’ve ever had. The chocolate is like a crazy perfect balance of milk, dark, and white chocolates that perfectly covers roasted espresso beans. Each drink comes with a bean planted firmly in the whip, unless you’re like me and hate whip, then your bean comes on the lid.

Excellent coffee from a quality bean at a great price! Hot, cold, black, smoothie, or iced hot chocolate. Whatever makes your soul sing you’ll find at the bean.

2646 AZ-95, Bullhead City, AZ 86442

restaurants
3

About the Creator

Kristen Renee

Kristen Renee

Writer of poems, short stories, and soon a novel.

Six "Editor's Choice Awards" (1997-2011)

Published in the Library of Congress

Bachelor's Degree in English

Master's Degree in Business Administration

Collector of Books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.