Feast logo

What? White Chocolate Isn’t Really Chocolate

Okay, now I’m really sad

By Lynda CokerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image by caja from Pixabay

Misconceptions play a prominent role in my view of the world. ~George Soros

When researching ingredients for a recipe article I’m currently writing, I came across this mood-altering fact. My precious while chocolate isn’t really chocolate. I’m crushed!

Don’t you just hate when marketing hype leads you down the wrong road, making you innocently believe in what is not true? Intentional or not, the result is the same — disappointment and disillusionment.

But I have to take responsibility for my own short-sightedness. I know better than to believe everything I read. But when looking at that creamy lusciousness, I wanted to believe in the chocolate hype. And isn’t that what advertising strategy is all about?

So, if white chocolate isn’t chocolate, what is it? Actually, it’s a combination of sugar, milk, vanilla, lecithin, and cocoa butter — no chocolate anywhere to be found.

A little history tidbit:

The history of white chocolate is largely unclear, but “the general consensus,” says Eagranie Yuh, author of “The Chocolate Tasting Kit” (Chronicle, 2014), “is that Nestlé was the first to develop white chocolate commercially in 1936 in Switzerland. The story is that it was a way to use up excess milk powder that had been produced for World War I and was no longer in demand.” ~ Source

Do you know that saying that states when you get lemons to make lemonade? Well, when you get white chocolate that isn’t really chocolate, just make White Chocolate Pudding?

Since I've probably depressed you along with myself, let me put a smile on your face.

Long live Jellybeans and why they make us happy

Before we talk about the list of best things about these little miracle candies, lets’ dig a little into their past life.

The earliest known appearance of a jelly bean is an 1861 advertisement for William Schrafft of Boston that promoted the sending of jelly beans to soldiers in the Union Army during the Civil War.

Why are they called jelly beans? Candymakers have always made candy into novelty shapes. ~Source

And for all those who love these candies as much as I do, you’ll want to know that they have their own designated special day.

National Jelly Bean Day is April 22nd.

A few interesting facts about jellybeans

  1. The 40th President of the United States, Ronald Reagan, enjoyed jelly beans so much that they were present at his inauguration.
  2. In the 1910s and early 1920s, the word “jellybean” referred to a young man who put a lot of great effort into dressing stylishly.
  3. Jelly beans were the first candy to be sold by weight rather than by piece.
  4. It can take anywhere from 7 to 21 days to make a jelly bean.
  5. The original eight flavors of Jelly Belly beans introduced in 1976 were Very Cherry, Root Beer, Cream Soda, Tangerine, Green Apple, Lemon, Licorice, and Grape. ~Source
  6. Each year in the U.S, there are 16 billion jelly beans manufactured just for Easter. This is enough to circle the Earth more than 3 times if they were laid end to end. ~ Source
  7. Jelly Belly jelly beans became the first jelly beans in space when they traveled aboard the 1983 Challenger Space Shuttle.
  8. The best things about jellybeans are the things that can make you happy
  9. Here’s a list of my best and happy thoughts on jellybeans.
  10. They are easy to sneak into my purse or pocket and I can savor them throughout the day without anyone noticing.
  11. With so many varieties of color and flavor, I never get bored standing in front of the candy dispensers.
  12. They make a festive addition to any side table or buffet.
  13. They are the perfect treat for my granddaughters.
  14. They are perfect for adding fun to any gift package.
  15. Jellybeans and coffee make a fantasy breakfast.
  16. They are perfect for rewarding me throughout the day for getting my writing done on time — one jellybean for every 50 words. I’m thinking of lowering the reward quota soon.
  17. They are perfect toppers for cupcakes.
  18. I can color coordinate my jellybeans with my mood. Those black ones come in very handy on days I get rejections from publishers.

Nutrition Facts ~ Source

  • Cholesterol Free
  • Fat-Free
  • Low Saturated Fat
  • Very Low Sodium
  • 41 Calories per 10 jellybeans

Conclusion

What’s the best thing about Jellybeans? EATING them, of course. But, for me, the second-best thing is hoarding them.

___________________________

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Lynda Coker

Grab a chair, turn a page, and read a while with me. I promise to tap lightly on my keyboard so we both can stay immersed in our world of words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.