Feast logo

WHAT I LEARNED FROM MY SUGAR FREE EXPERIENCE

that I'm an alcoholic and I don't drink at all

By Annaelle ArtsyPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
WHAT I LEARNED FROM MY SUGAR FREE EXPERIENCE
Photo by Courtney Cook on Unsplash

Last November I had an encounter with a health consultant and something simply clicked in my head with regards to sugar and sweets. The health consultant was mentioning about specific foods which should not be consumed as per my blood type, if I remember correctly. We were discussing the fact that I don’t cope very well, well not me, but my body, does not cope very well with dairy. Particularly milk. We went on to discuss about the fact that dairy should not be consumed with anything else. At that point in time, I already had enough info about certain food combinations, but for some reason, dairy was never something that I considered that much, probably because I do not really eat dairy on a daily basis and when I do consume it, I am very particular about what I can eat because over the years I have learned how to listen to my body and its reactions to what I put in it. And, maybe because I am not that much into dairy, that I never really put that much effort into it, as the only thing that I would eat would be butter, meaning on a regular basis. And, it got to that point that this health consultant said to me that dairy products are not to be eaten with anything else as they digest very slow or cannot be digested if mixed up with anything else. Not sure how the conversation went to sweets, well, I do, it’s because I used to have a strong addiction towards chocolate, and he mentioned that sugar consumed with any other type of food ferments in the stomach, causing indigestion and moreover, alcohol. Oh, wait, I remember, it’s because I had done some analysis for my liver.

And my liver came back as if I was a bit of an alcoholic. But I am a particular alcoholic. The last time I remember having a sip of wine was ages ago. I don’t even drink on New Years Eve or on any special occasions, not because I have something against it, but because it is extremely dehydrating to the body and of course, because I do not wish to put my liver to do overtime. It’s not like it pays off. If you get the joke. My liver does enough of taking care of that huge amount of sweets I used to do. And it does a lot now, trying to clean up the mess left behind from more than 30 years with that lifestyle. So, when I heard that my liver believes I am an alcoholic, a little light popped up around my senses as if it was the emergency line screaming OMG. But, why? It turns out my sweet tooth is the culprit. So, naturally, it determined me to stop even more the cravings. I was already doing intermittent fasting, and my sweet tooth already was vastly diminished to what it compared to be, and was already switching to more so believed at the time “natural” and “organic” sweets. But that is still sugar. No matter what other beautiful or green label you add to sugar, that is still sugar and it will behave in your body the same way a non organic sweet or an artificial sweet would do. Sugar is the most toxic thing ever invented and we consume it daily. The sugar was transforming me into an alcoholic. I care about my liver very much. My liver is very important to me. We have a strong connection, I mean, it cleans my body of harmful things I eat and it is the most important organ in the body, having to deal with producing protein, breaking down old and damaged blood cells, breaks down the fats and produces energy. You name it. It is a detoxifying organ as well and it metabolizes drugs. No, not that kind of drugs. The medicines or supplements we take. How can I not be careful with it?

I did not stop sugar right away as with my addiction, I would have probably went into chocolate withdrawal. I ate less and less every day and payed more attention to the sugar and how I felt about it, I was becoming more mindful around my thoughts about sugar and sweets. After around 2 weeks, I completely gave up pastry, cookies, biscuits, sweets, organic sweets, natural sweets, or fruits in high amounts of fructose. I was not consuming sodas or any other things like that anyway, when I was drinking my tea, it was without sugar and I rarely have coffee, like once in a couple of years. It was especially hard the first few days but then, the more time passed, the better I felt and I realised how free I had come to become. Free from the prison my brain crayoned for me, telling me, I need a bit of sugar to deal with this, I need a bit of sugar to care for myself, to love myself, I need a bit of chocolate, my brain is foggy. It was foggy because it was too much sugar. Not because it was too little of it. I had become free of the thought what type of organic natural chocolate to buy, or when should I eat that piece of chocolate, or when is the next break to have a sweet snack to cope with today? Free from drama. Free from chocolate drama and all its aftermath: OMG, I ate so much, OMG I am fat, OMG cellulite. ETC.

I have been sugar free for around 4 months. I have to say it was amazing. I am back on sugar now, but do not imagine I went into a sugar free type of an experience for a detox period (even though I know this is how it may sound like), I wanted to do this to stop having days in which everything I ate was sugary no matter if that was gluten free and organic. Due to this, I am able to control my urges far better than before and that’s because I am more mindful of the sugar and its consequences and of the brain’s addiction or maybe of my brain’s lack of something and I start analysing what is making me feel this need of sugar.

During these 4 months of sugar free, I realised that whenever I was craving sweets, it was not because I was in the mood for something sweet, which was what my brain was manipulating me into believing, as the brain was manipulated by the toxin called sugar, it was because there was 1 possibility out of 3 options:

-emotional lack of some sort of a feeling, usually not feeling loved or lack of perception of love

-being bored and my brain needing something to get it stimulated

-inertia from past habits to have something sweet or social copy paste of some sort (if a colleague was having a snack, the habit of eating snacks together, or even by myself, as a form of caring for myself, you know, the idea that you need time for yourself and you would treat yourself with something to enjoy the experience more, to carpe diem shit, but this time, really harmfully twisted, it’s like a sort of live today to die tomorrow)

Sugar when consumed with bread, dairy, pastries, meat, eggs, ANY TYPE OF FOOD, it converts in alcohol in the liver. ALCOHOL. Eating daily like this will more than likely bring health issues and I bet that if you also consume alcohol regularly, it will be even more harmful. Sugar is dangerous. It’s an assumed type of danger we all take, a risk if you want. But with all risks, we need to take precautions. The precaution in the case of sugar is to eat less, consume it mindfully and understand that it is a toxin. It’s toxic. No matter what your brain is telling you now, because it’s actually the brain that is addicted rather than your body, and your brain is confused, it is toxic and you must engrave that in your brain. You must associate sugary things with toxicity. And not just any type of toxicity, it’s the type that will kill you for sure, but obviously, slowly, so that you won’t know it was its fault.

To stop your sugar addiction, I recommend watching the documentary That sugar Film. It will bring a bit more clarity to your confused brain. And I am sorry if I am a bit harsh. So, is sugar. Harsh, but sweet. I can be sweet too. And tell you that you can do it like I do, consume maximum 20 grams of sugar per day. Even though I do make sure I have lots of days from the 7 days per week, sugar free. And by sugar free I mean free from the artificial sugar, and the hidden sugar. There is a lot of sugar in bread, in salami, in hummus, in milk, in pre-packaged food, in yogurt. I cannot think of anything else now, not because there would not be a zillion other products that have sugar, but because I stopped consuming lots of them, and I cannot name any now, since they’re not on my radar. I should have written this when I still did have them popping my brain each time I was hungry. Months ago. If you do eat bread, ham, salami, pre-packaged food, lots of sandwiches, Subways, or Macs or whatever else you have, let me tell you something, you are consuming sugar. Sugar is also a great so-called “natural” preservative. You can find it in canned foods. Everywhere. It’s everywhere. It’s really everywhere. It’s very, very hard to actually find something with no sugar. Maybe those food products on which it is especially written SUGAR FREE. And most of the times, some of those, do have sugar, but it has the scientific name of other type of sugar: xylitol, corn syrup, inverted corn syrup, maize syrup, and all sorts of other chemical artificial sugars. It’s still sugar. This even worse, as it is more chemical. You really have no idea what you put in your body. Then you wonder, why you are sick, why you gained weight, why you are not losing the weight, why you’re moody. Why. Why. Why. Lots of whys. Because the answer is SUGAR. If food is the main culprit of all diseases, then by logic, since all food contains sugar, and sugar is toxic, sugar is the main culprit of all diseases. Remove sugar and you will gain clarity of thought and of body weight. You will be healthier than ever before. Sugar and sweets is so toxic that the body needs to take the vitamins and minerals and nutrients to actually clean up the body from the toxic waste it leaves. By using our vitamins and nutrients to remove the sugar, we are left with no vitamins and nutrients for our main organs so that our bodies can show health. That’s how harsh sugar is. The sweeter it is, the more it endangers your health.

Sugar free means health. Clarity of thought. Clarity of moods. Less ups and downs in happiness and sadness. More mindfulness. Sugar free comes with a better understanding of one’s self. With a deeper meaning and a greater comprehension around the brain and the differences between the brain and the mind and the consciousness. You will realise you are more peaceful when you are sugar free and the one thing that will probably remain the rest of your life after a sugar free experience or treatment or detox, whatever you want to name it, is the blunt fact that you do not think all the time about food and you are not the food you eat, not in that sense, that what you eat is what you look like. You are not defined by food. You do not live to eat. You eat to be able to live. See the difference. Better, taste the difference with your own sugar free experience. I dare you!

healthy
Like

About the Creator

Annaelle Artsy

Me, myself & I

Slow living in the reading

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.