Feast logo

Visions an American Restaurant with a Bit of Soul

Enjoy soul food from one of my favorite places in the Philadelphia area

By Robin Jessie-GreenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
Enjoying Visions Restaurant soul food by Robin L. Jessie-Green

Food is more than sustenance for me. Some people eat to live, I live to eat, love to eat, eat to eat. The foodie in me loves tasting new things. During this pandemic, eating has become even more of my favorite pastime than pre Coronavirus. Although as an immunosuppressed person, I cannot safely venture out to my typical eateries, I still find ways to get my grub on by ordering To-Go at my local favorite restaurants.

Whether it’s Spicy Indian Kadai Chicken, Mexican Jumbo Lump Crab Quesadillas, Italian Seafood Alfredo, or Philadelphian Cheesesteaks Wit-- if it’s hot and flavorful, I’m eating!

Recently, I had an enjoyable meal on a very special evening filled with surprises and profound moments, it was the night I got engaged! My new fiance packed a soul food picnic dinner. We broke bread-- or should I say cornbread-- under the romantically lit pavilion in the middle of Veteran’s Park in Broomall, Pennsylvania.

Where the Go Food’s at:

About twenty minutes away from that lovely outdoor haven is the Black-owned American Soul Food Restaurant called Visions. Visions Restaurant is located in Yeadon, Pennsylvania roughly five miles outside of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. To be exact, the address is 700 Church Lane Yeadon, Pennsylvania 19050. They can be reached at 484-461-4888. It’s best to call ahead to order for pick up to avoid a wait. That is where our delicious and well-portioned meals were created. Bonus: Visions can cater your next event.

They’ve got “beans, greens, potatoes, tomatoes, yams, lamb… You name it!” They offer a variety of soul food choices. We had blackened salmon with lobster bisque sauce, steamed cabbage and broccoli, baked macaroni with cheese and mini sweet cornbread muffins adorning our red, square, snake-skinned patterned plates.

Knowing I would be too full for dessert, none was ordered for me by my guy. If I had room, and knew about my surprise picnic, I would have opted for their sweet potato pie. Prices and selection may vary for their dessert options.

Food from Visions Restaurant by Robin L. Jessie-Green

The Yum Yum Menu:

Order an affordable BBQ Chicken Breast Sandwich on white, wheat, round or long roll for under 8 bucks including a 35 cent topping!

Try a lightly breaded crab cake served on a croissant with a side of french fries for less than $12.

If you’re not in the mood for a sandwich and have a taste for a Vegetarian dish instead, why not select a Healthy Choice Vegetable Platter for around $13?

Let’s not forget the sides which accompany and enhance every meal. Whether it’s my personal fav, macaroni and cheese, or their creamed or sauteed spinach, whipped yams, cabbage, string beans, broccoli, rice pilaf or spaghetti with sauce, you’ll get your fill by chowing down on one of Visions’ meals. Sides come in sizes Small at $2, Medium $4 and Large at $7.

When to Get the Good Food:

They’re closed on Monday but are open Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 11:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. They’re open Friday and Saturday 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. and on Sunday 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.

About Soul:

Identified as an “American Restaurant” on the establishment’s website, Visions is not a “soul food” restaurant specifically. However, some of its patrons (including myself) have pegged them as soul food masters because of the basic down-home cooking that closely resembles cuisine from the Southern United States.

Soul food is traditionally African American comfort food but is loved by all. And all are welcome to enjoy. If you’re in the Philadelphia, Broomall, Upper Darby, Lansdowne vicinity, or anywhere near the Yeadon, Pennsylvania area, call ahead to place your order and then drop by Visions Restaurant.

Who knows? You might just see me and my fiance!

Let’s eat!

restaurants
4

About the Creator

Robin Jessie-Green

Temple University BA and AIU Online MBA Alumna.

Content Contributor for Medium, eHow, Examiner, Experts123, AnswerBag, Medicine-guides.com and various other sites spanning a decade.

Visit my Writing Portfolio to see what else I've written.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.