Feast logo

Venison Stromboli

So delicious you won't know what hit you.

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
4
Venison Stromboli by Amanda Payne

Venison Stromboli is made with ground sausage, onions, and seasoning and then wrapped in a layer of pizza crust and mozzarella cheese. Then it is brushed with butter, seasoned with oregano and basil, and baked to perfection.

This is another anytime meal. It is delicious for breakfast, dinner, or anything in between. Family and friends are sure to enjoy this recipe. If the kids are old enough, they could even help you make it.

Venison Stromboli Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of venison sausage (or other sausage or ground meat)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 8 slices of mozzarella cheese
  • 1 Pillsbury Pizza Dough (thin crust)
  • 1 tablespoon of butter
  • 1 teaspoon of dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon of dried basil
  • Marinara Sauce (optional)

Getting It Done:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F degrees.
  2. Prep the onion and set it aside.
  3. In a frying pan heated to medium-high heat, start cooking the venison sausage, breaking it while frying. Then add the onion and cook until done. Drain the excess grease if needed.
  4. Add 1/2 teaspoon of oregano and 1/2 teaspoon of basil to the meat and onions and mix well (optional).
  5. Press the pizza dough into a large cookie sheet and layer the mozzarella cheese on top of the dough.
  6. In the center of the dough, pour the sausage and onion mixture a few inches wide in a straight line. Try to get the same thickness everywhere.
  7. Roll the dough over the top of the sausage from one side and then pull the dough from the other side, overlapping the dough.
  8. Crimp the dough seams together.
  9. Make about six small 1 inch slits in the top of the dough.
  10. Brush the top and sides with butter.
  11. Mix a 1/2 teaspoon of oregano and 1/2 teaspoon of basil and sprinkle it over the buttered dough.
  12. Bake for 25 minutes or until the crust is golden brown.
  13. Remove the pan from the oven and let the stromboli rest. Then slice into six pieces and serve.

The one-inch slits in the top of the crust allow the steam to escape as it bakes and helps the dough bake thoroughly. Most of the time, I forget to do this. If you have a lot of veggies in yours, I highly recommend you not forget this step because your dough will likely end up soggy.

Make this recipe your own. Get creative! You can literally put whatever you want in a stromboli. I like to keep it simple with only a few ingredients. Sometimes I add bell peppers or pepperoni, mushrooms, or I will use leftover steak or some spiced up ground meat. The possibilities are endless!

Whatever you put in your stromboli, I wouldn’t recommend filling it too full. When it’s loaded with too much, it makes it harder to roll, and sometimes if you have too many veggies, it will get soggy, so be careful.

I like to make my homemade marinara sauce with stromboli, but storebought is fine. It is so good to dip it into. You can get the recipe for my favorite marinara sauce from my Meatball Subs recipe below.

You can also use any kind of meat and veggies you have on hand. I have used several types of ground meats. Beef, chicken, turkey, pork, and venison work well with this recipe.

I hope you enjoy my recipe! Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you like it. I appreciate your support very much.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent recipes: Cheesy Venison on Ciabatta and Venison Steak Subs.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This venison stromboli recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
4

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.