Feast logo

There Are 2 Cakes Among Us

A Baking Story (Pt.8)

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I took this picture when the colours were still drying, forgive me.

Of course, you probably know me very well for invading Vocal with my film studies stuff and articles entitled ‘a filmmaker’s guide’. I have often explained that I love to bake as well. Since I was young, I have loved the idea, the creativity and the relaxation of baking different things. I love to make macarons, layer cakes and gingerbread in particular and the activity of it really gets me away from my laptop (where I’m sure you know that I spend most of my life). So, I hope you enjoy me talking about what I bake and why I bake it complete with pictures (if not very good) of me actually baking, my baked goods in the process of being created and when they’re finished. I’m really happy to share this with you. And if you like, you can show me your baking (yes, I spend a lot of time writing, but I also spend a lot of time reading other people’s articles!), I would love to see it. Since I was in school, I was always interested in creating things, whether that be pieces of writing, welding things to make small statues or baking foods and making sweets (candy, if you’re American). I hope you enjoy looking at some of the stuff that has honestly kept me sane, because I seem to be going slightly mad.

There Are 2 Cakes Among Us

My brother introduced me to this weird game called 'Among Us' and since then, I've been thinking of ways to turn the characters into cake and the setting into something tasty. So I decided to make a two-tier sandwich cake with two slightly different flavours but with the same colour. When you cut open the cake, it should look like a navy-blue night sky. It's delicious with lemon and chocolate flavours filled with raspberry jam between. So here is how I made it.

Cake Recipe

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C
  2. Line two medium sized sandwich tins with either oil or butter (I prefer oil because I need less)
  3. Cream together 200g of chilled butter and 200g of caster sugar
  4. Add two beaten eggs and mix
  5. Add 200g of self-raising flour
  6. Split the mixture in half and add 1/2 worth lemon zest to one and three spoons of cocoa powder to the other
  7. Add navy blue food colouring to both mixtures and mix again with a fork/spoon so that the food colouring is blended
  8. Bake in the over for 30-32mins and then cool for 20 minutes.

Decoration

Whilst it is cooling, roll out some black fondant icing or, if you'd rather, some grey fondant icing. (I used grey instead of black because I didn't like how dark the black looked).

When the cake has cooled, put raspberry jam between the layers and put one atop the other.

Raspberry Jam upon the cake featuring reindeer pyjamas

When the cake has been assembled, put the black fondant on top of the cake and smooth it out.

The fun part is that you now get to make the characters from "Among Us" in fondant icing of different colours.

Attach the fondant characters to the cake and add some decorations in either silver or gold balls to represent stars. It may be primitive but it looks pretty and it tastes pretty good too.

When it comes to making the characters, you really only need a sharp knife. Roll a generous piece of icing up into a thick sausage and using your thumb to press out the shape for the character. Use the knife to smooth out the edges and cut a rectangular shape in order to make the legs. Get a piece of white fondant to make the visor and make sure it is pressed on to the front properly, shaved down and made into a rectangle shape as well. When you’ve finished this, you can start to place them atop your cake.

I used about seven small characters to place on the cake and two with pets to stand upon the the cakes as centrepieces and so, I hope you enjoy making your characters and placing them on to your very tasty cake - remember, there is an imposter among them

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.