Feast logo

The Warmth of a Cafe

My first bite at Quiero Cafe

By Adriauna DiazPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The walk

Have you heard the expression "home is where the heart is?" Moving to Saco, Maine, I said goodbye to my home and started over with only the hope I would settle in. Arriving across the country makes a girl hungry, so I walked down my new neighborhood streets and onto Maine Street, where I was sure to find something to eat. There, hidden in a small strip of closely walled businesses was a turquoise trimmed door that read "Quiero Café", something familiar. As a kid, I ate a lot of Mexican food, because my dad was a cook who had a knack for running small restaurants, so reading the familiar language left me no option, but to go inside. The open dining area with the wooden topped tables and brick walls took me in, and the warm smells of an open kitchen lured me to the counter, where three menus laid out in front of me. What have I stumbled upon? I could only wonder as I read through the menu of guava infused empanadas, mole tamales, fruit blended smoothies, and hot coffee. You see, not only was I hungry, but I never turn down a good cup of hot coffee, so seeing I had two of my favorite things in one place, I might as well have been given a brick of gold. I was in complete bliss. I ordered three empanadas and a Café Con Leche. I found a brightly lit seat near the tall windows, and waited in silence, grinning from ear to ear.

The young lady who took my order walked over and delivered three exceptionally branded empanadas with a steaming coffee in a white to go cup. There was something about her, something that made me wonder if she owned the restaurant. Maybe in the way she walked, or how she spoke, or maybe it was her love for the café that resonated outward, but I wanted to ask her if "Quiero" was hers. Of course, this question would have to wait until my stomach was full. The Columbian coffee swelled into my nose with an aroma of chocolate and sugar canes. My mouth watered as the first sip of Café Con Leche flooded my taste buds and the leche finish lingered long enough for me to want a second sip. Looking down at the plate of empanadas, I imagined how tasty the flaky crust would be as I devoured its baked body. However, my imagination did not begin to see the truly amazing empanada I tasted. The Dulce Empanada was not good, but great food. The steaming guava sauce nuzzling into the white stretched cheese folded over the pastry like an orchestrated concerto, leaving its audience screaming for an encore. It was perfect, and my plate was empty to soon. When the woman came back, I remembered having the slightest need to find out if she was the owner. I asked her how long the café has been opened, and in kind, she told me her and her husband opened over four years ago. Her husband being from Cuba, and her from Argentina, wanted to infuse both flavors into their menu. I didn't ask who made the Dulce empanada, but maybe next time, I will. She walked away smiling, hopefully knowing that I had fallen in love with their café. There is always an opening to your heart's home, and for me, it was this afternoon at "Quiero Café" where I had found it. If you haven't found a place where you light up as soon as you reach for the door, or if you aren't sure where to go, there is a small turquoise trimmed door just off of Maine Street in Saco, and I know they would love it if you came by. Maybe you will find a piece of your home in "Quiero Café", just like I did.

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.