Feast logo

The Moyo's Banana Bread

Banana's and Lemon Juice

By AllAroundTheWorldPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

It wasn't as special then as it is now, but my Mom used to make the best Banana Bread. She passed away two years ago and I'm still mad that I never bothered to pay attention when she was making it but the taste and cravings still remain.

In my house we are not a baking family, if we bake it's from the box where all we need to do is add water and an egg. We're great cooks and that skill just never transferred into the baking realm so it became something we would usually try our hand in once or twice every year before hanging up the apron and going back to our boxy friends, who never failed us. I think cooking is less methodical, you just add what you wanna add, season until ancestors whisper stop and taste as you go along.

But baking? With baking you only know what you've done right or wrong once you're looking at the finished product and by then any mistakes you've made can't be fixed so you really have to concentrate the whole time making sure all your measurements are correct.

The first time my Mom made banana bread wasn't intentional, it was just because we had leftover bananas that no one was going to eat. Bananas were and still aren't the choice of fruit in our house but we'd get them anyway because maybe I might make a smoothie, or maybe one of us will start liking bananas for the first time in over twenty-two years. And every time they'd get thrown out and I think she finally got sick of it and looked up what we could do with them.

She did so well, that we finally started buying bananas for an actual purpose and not just to watch them turn nasty and throw them out. She randomly just went into the kitchen and we all had no idea what she was doing. Suddenly the smell hit us of some baked goods and we were all quite shocked, one, because she'd made it from scratch and two, because it tasted soooo good and we didn't know bananas could taste soooo good.

I haven't had it since she passed away, but in that time I have actually managed to acquire a taste for bananas, and not just in banana bread but I can even eat them by themselves, an impossible feat just 7 months ago, but also why?

Anyways, It's best served with a cup of tea because the sweetness can sometimes be too much and I have warn y'all that I don't know the measurement of the ALL ingredient but I know what goes in, so good luck?

  • Vanilla Extract if you're feeling adventurous
  • Butter
  • Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Bananas
  • Flour, the self raising kind
  • Baking powder
  • Milk
  • Lemon Juice (yes you read right) - There's a running joke in my family about my love for lemons and how I add lemon juice in EVERYTHING I cook. I know some of y'all are skeptical but I promise you, it makes everything taste better. So I use to add just a dash or two of lemon juice just to annoy the rest of my family, it didn't change the taste at all but it was more just the thought and the story behind.

I'm about to go make some banana bread now cause writing this have worked up quite a craving and I hope y'all enjoy my recipe/non recipe? Have fun with and go a little wild, add something in there that makes it more you.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

AllAroundTheWorld

https://ariasibanda.wixsite.com/allaroundtheworld

"The world will not be destroyed by those who do evil, but by those who watch them without doing anything" - Albert Einstein

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.