Feast logo

The Most Amazing Smooth Mashed Potatoes

The Perfect Side Dish

By Ashlee FrazierPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
My amazing smooth mashed potatoes

Let me start by telling you this mashed potato recipe is by no means on the healthy list. But once you have these, you’ll never be the same. This is how my grandma would make smooth mashed potatoes …she was a country cook. So, you know they are good. They pair so well with any meat or by itself with a spoon. My favorite part about making these is finding someone new to try them. The look on their face is the best reward. I may sound overly confident but I have full faith in these!

Don’t worry about sticking to the measurements. It doesn’t have to be exact. Most recipes are the best when you adjust them to your liking. If I were you, I’d start off little by little and add as you go along. I’ve personally never used too much of any of the ingredients. Coming from a Texas girl, the butter is the star of the show.

Ingredients

Potatoes: I used two big potatoes and this was enough for Aaron, Navy and myself

Real butter: Don’t start thinking healthy now. There’s a real difference in butter when it comes to the outcome. Go ahead and have a stick on hand. You can use as little or as much of this as you’d like

Evaporated milk: Start with a 12 oz can. Carnation is the best. There are just some thing I believe you can’s skimp on. This is one of those things. The other is in my roast beef recipe. You can’t skip on cream of mushroom.

Butter / Evaporated Milk / Potatoes

How to:

1. Start by boiling the potatoes, with skin on. This should be about 30 min. You want your fork to easily slide through. If it doesn't cook a little longer. Make sure you keep them covered with water.

2. Once they are cooked, peel the skin off. Do this while they are hot. I use a fork and knife and that works just fine.

3. Place into mixer using the flat beater, (If you don't have that, it's fine. It's my favorite to use for this recipe.) start to slowly mix potatoes. Start on level 2.

4. While mixing add in 1/2 stick of butter to start with. Let melt.

5. Add 1/2 cup of evaporated milk.

6. Blend until you have smooth mashed potatoes.

7. I don't add salt and pepper to mine but my mom does. So feel free to do so.

Mixing Bowl / KitchenAid Bowl Attachment / Measuring Bowl / KitchenAid Mixer / 3 Mixer Attachments / Hand Mixer

Literally, that’s it. With that said, taste them. If you want more flavor add the rest of the butter. If you start with the entire stick you won’t be sorry. Careful to not add too much milk. You don’t want them to be watery. More than half the can is probably risking it. Half is fine.

Again, this made enough for us. If you are feeding more, double the recipe. I find that these are best fresh but you can most def. have mashed potatoes for left overs the next day.

If you make these, tag me. I must know what you think.

recipecuisine
1

About the Creator

Ashlee Frazier

Best known for my appearance on The Bachelor's 17th season. I now focus on my fashion and accessories brand, ANEA HILL, and lifestyle blog where I share everything fashion, makeup, travel, family, and more. Follow me on Instagram! 🌿

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.