Feast logo

The Crack

You can’t please everyone; you are not a jar of Nutella.

By laura haydenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

Confession, I’m a people pleaser. If you come to my home I want you to feel pampered, and special. I will get favorite soap, beverage, food, etc.…whatever you like, if I can. I will play your favorite music. I will make your favorite dish. And I will accommodate all your dietary restrictions.

I live in Los Angeles. This can be a challenge, try feeding a vegan, a paleo and a celiac all at the same time. Throw in a nut allergy and I’m serving nothing but filtered water and air, add in some cigarettes and you have the diet of a starlet. Unnaturally thin comes at a heavy price. But none of this is the point.

The big game, which is always open to interpretation, but in my mind right now its Super Bowl. Love football, hate football, it doesn't matter. It’s about the party and mostly the food! Wings, nachos, dips of all varies, cheese molded into the shape of a football, sliders, hot dogs, meatballs, chili, Doritos, cheese puffs, Funions, potato chips, guacamole and bacon wrapped anything, all delicious.

In my house Super Bowl includes a few interesting customs. The big game will be on of course. In another room, there will be playing the complete ant statist of the Super Bowl, this year for the third time, the movie, The Notebook. The secondary viewing is decided by the party participates in a pre game/ party vote. And don't think for a minute friendly wagers are not happening in both rooms. FYI the first person to cry (always a popular bet) is often watching the Super Bowl not the “chick flick”.

Always a tradition in my home regardless of the event, your dietary needs and personal requests is what is fondly referred to as “the crack’, because it is that addicting. Having not tried crack it is merely a nickname. It is my version of baked Brie. To be honest baked Brie is a tired appetizer, out of date, and really disgusting wrapped in puff pastry. Hearts attack anyone?

In my version there is Brie, but it is never baked. I guess it could be baked, but really why, when a microwave is all you need. See it’s not as fancy pants as you thought it was going to be. One of my best friends and myself worked in a restaurant while attending college and this Brie dish was an appetizer on the menu. Both of us were young and not worldly. At the time this was the most incredible food experience in our young lives. It began our culinary journey into the foodie world. We both still serve our version of this baked Brie at gatherings. Although my friend will spruce it up with a sprinkling of dried cranberries, a delicious variation. It is always a popular offering and nearly always the first to consumed. It is equally popular with men and women. The game watchers and the chick flick crew. And I know you want some crack, so here is the recipe.

The Crack

In a frying pan melt ¼ cup butter (use real butter people, life is short)

Add 8-10oz of sliced unsalted raw almonds. Sautéed until the almonds are a light golden brown. Watch closely these suckers can burn fast.

Place a hunk of Brie in the middle of a plate (wedge or wheel, doesn't matter) For those who like exact measurements about 6- 8oz. Nuke the cheese until soft, depends on your microwave. In mine its about 80 seconds. If it too runny, no worries it will solidify as it cools. It’s all-good. See it’s nearly foolproof.

Pour the browned almonds and butter over the top of the nuked Brie. Sprinkle with brown sugar. I don’t measure this either but it I had to guess about a 1/8 cup. Don't skimp but don't drown it either.

Serve it with warm, sliced French baguette (I guess I did need the oven), But truth be told I have nuked the bread as well, in the past. But that is trickier. Over nuked bread makes a bread brick.

‘ When the cheese gets cold, nuke the entire plate again and it’s again perfect.

The synergy of 5 simple ingredients which is so much more than the sum of it parts. Trust me, Try it. It’s Crack.

I have severed this well over a 100 times and unless you don't like cheese, puppies, and happiness you will love it. If you don't, then next year I will make the other house favorite, Nutella over bacon. I’m here to please.

recipe
3

About the Creator

laura hayden

An over educated blonde in fabulous shoes... but so much more. Comedian, author, podcaster and physical therapist. I can literally talk, write and discuss just about anything but if its funny I'm going to enjoy it so much more. Cheers!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.