Feast logo

The Birth Of A Smoothie Bowl Master

A story of how I formed a love for smoothie bowl recipe development and some fun, yummy and unique recipes to try out! This story also includes a free verse poem about smoothie bowls!

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Top Story - June 2022
21
The Birth Of A  Smoothie Bowl Master
Photo by Alex Lvrs on Unsplash

Before I tell the tale of how the “smoothie bowl master” came to life, I want to share my poem “Smoothie Bowls” with y’all!

A life-saving treat

when your stomach and brain want

hot fudge sundaes,

decadent butterscotch dipped cones,

and brownie extreme blizzards.

Smoothie bowls

are Gaia’s versions

of indulgent ice cream sundaes,

classic McFlurries

and wild banana splits!

Since the spring of 2020, I developed a new hobby that’s been giving me a sense of pleasure, self-confidence and fulfillment: recipe writing and development! Staying home and having more time to enjoy myself gave me the opportunity to try new creative hobbies like recipe writing and development. I still continue to enjoy recipe writing and development not just for my own benefit, but to share my creativity and love for food and nutrition with my friends, family and fans in Canada and around the world.

Although recipe writing and development is not a new pastime I pursued, I didn’t start improving until mid 2021 and early 2022. It took me a lot of inspiration and time to really perfect my craft. Instagram, Vocal and other foodies I know and have discovered were other sources of inspiration for me. I would use them as resources and often viewed them on both Facebook and Instagram.

For the last couple years, I’ve been spending heaps of time on Instagram, and as a result, I’ve discovered smoothie bowl recipes to try out and make! Once I learned how to operate my food processor that my mom gave me, I started making my own smoothie bowls! My mom recently purchased a Ninja blender for me to keep, so that was also quite exciting for me, because it was another appliance I could utilize to make smoothies and smoothie bowls! It wasn’t until several months after I was able to correctly operate my food processor and Ninja blender that I’ve embarked on my smoothie bowl recipe writing and development journey.

Since I’m so proud of all the progress I’ve made, I’m eager to share and publish a small collection of these colourful, nutritious, yummy and unique smoothie bowl recipes and flavours I’ve created in the last several months!

1. Bubblegum Smoothie Bowl

Photo taken on May 24 2022 with my iPhone.

When I was a kid, I was a huge fan of bubblegum! I used to take multiple trips to the convenience store, just to purchase tapes and packs of Hubba Bubba bubblegum! In addition to chewing bubblegum, I was also a bubblegum-flavoured ice cream, lollipop and candy fanatic! It wasn’t only the taste of the flavour, I was also attracted to the colour of bubblegum and bubblegum-flavoured treats!

This recipe will be perfect for you and your kids! Check this recipe out if you’re craving bubblegum and/or bubblegum flavoured treats!

Ingredients

1 frozen bananas

1 cup of frozen strawberries

1/2 cup of frozen pitaya

1 scoop of vanilla protein powder

1/2-1/3 cup of milk of your choice

Directions

1. Add the frozen fruit and milk, and then blend in a food processor or smoothie maker for 60 seconds.

2. Add the protein powder and another splash of milk if needed. Blend for another 30 seconds.

3. Serve in a bowl and enjoy this yummy, vibrant pink bubblegum smoothie bowl!

2. Glowing Green Pandan Smoothie Bowl

Photo taken on May 24 2022 with my iPhone.

For those of you who don't know, pandan is a leaf that's native to Southeast Asia. Pandan is commonly used in Southeast Asian baked goods, cold treats and frozen desserts. I’m familiar with pandan flavoured treats, because I was surrounded with Filipino people and went to a variety of Filipino mini markets when I was a child. Whenever I would shop at the local Filipino markets, I would often notice pandan flavoured snack cakes, cheesecakes and other desserts stocked on the shelves. Since I was a fussy eater back then, I didn’t have the guts to try it! Now I do!

Because I don't consume gluten, I cannot consume any of these pandan flavoured snack cakes that I often find in the Asian markets. That being said, I can make and eat pandan flavoured smoothies, smoothie bowls, oats, yogurts and baked goods using my own ingredients and pandan extract I can buy at the local Asian supermarket.

Check out this recipe for my homemade pandan flavoured smoothie bowl!

Ingredients

1 frozen banana (optional for extra sweetness)

1 cup of frozen cauliflower florets

2 cups of frozen kale or frozen spinach

1 scoop of vanilla protein powder

1/2 teaspoon of pandan extract

1/2-1/3 cup of milk of your choice

Directions

1. Add the frozen cauliflower, optional frozen banana, frozen kale or frozen spinach and milk to the food processor or blender. Blend for 60 seconds.

2. Add the pandan extract, vanilla protein powder and optional splash of milk to the food processor or blender. Blend for another 30 seconds.

3. Serve in a bowl and enjoy!

3. Berries 'n' Cream Smoothie Bowl

Photo taken on May 19 2022 with my iPhone.

Berries ‘n’ Cream stems back to the times when I would visit the local Canadian coffee shop chain, Tim Hortons and noticed the Yogurt ‘n’ Berries cups displayed in the beverages area. When I was a child, I wasn’t big into berries, but I adored yogurt! Making this flavour was a nice trip back to memory lane!

For all yogurt and berry lovers, this is the flavour for you! The only difference is: it has coconut cream instead of yogurt. That being said, you’re more than welcome to add yogurt instead of coconut cream!

Ingredients

1 cup of frozen cherries

1/2 tint of blueberries

1/2 tint of blackberries

1/3 cup of coconut cream or yogurt

1 scoop of vanilla protein powder

1/2- 1/3 cup of milk of your choice

Directions

1. Add the berries, cherries, coconut cream and milk to the food processor or blender. Blend for 60 seconds.

2. Add the protein powder and additional splash of milk. Blend for another 30 seconds.

3. Serve in a bowl and enjoy!

4. Peaches ‘n’ Cream Smoothie Bowl

Picture taken today from my iPhone.

I was never really a peach eater, but I began loving peaches as I matured! As a result of the openness to try out new fruits, I decided to purchase frozen peaches to keep in my freezer. The first time I concocted the Peaches ‘n’ Cream flavour, I fell right in love with peaches, especially frozen peaches!

For anyone who love peaches, this is the perfect flavour for you to try!

Ingredients

1 cup of frozen peaches

1 frozen banana

1 cup of frozen cauliflower florets

1 scoop of vanilla protein powder

1/2-1/3 cup of milk of your choice

Direction

1. Add the frozen peaches, cauliflower and banana to the food processor or blender. Blend for 60 seconds.

2. Add the protein powder and more milk if needed. Blend for another 30 seconds.

3. Serve in a bowl and dig right in!

5. Ube-Berry Smoothie Bowl

Picture taken today from my iPhone.

For those of you who don't know, ube is what Filipinos call purple sweet potato. It's a little similar to Japanese taro. Ube has been one of my favourites for the last several months! Since I’ve been addicted to ube flavoured smoothies and smoothie bowls, I decided to purchase ube extract from the local Asian market in my area. I love frozen blueberries and frozen blackberries, so I believed that inventing a new flavour by incorporating frozen blackberries, frozen blueberries and ube extract would be a creative thing to do!

If you’re a fan of blackberries, blueberries and ube just like myself, this is a new flavour for you to try out!

Ingredients

1 cup of frozen cauliflower

1/2 tint of frozen blueberries

1/2 tint of frozen blackberries

1 frozen banana (optional for extra sweetness)

1/2 teaspoon of ube extract

1 scoop of vanilla protein powder

1/2-1/3 cup of milk of your choice

Directions

1. Add the frozen cauliflower, frozen blackberries, frozen blueberries, ube extract, vanilla protein powder and milk into a food processor or blender. Blend for 60 seconds.

2. Add the ube powder and another portion of milk to the food processor or blender. Blend for another 30 seconds.

3. Serve in a bowl and enjoy this vibrant, magical and marvellous ube- berry smoothie bowl!

6. Red Velvet Cake Smoothie Bowl

Photo taken today from my iPhone.

For those of you who don’t know, red velvet is one of my top favourite cake flavours! I love red velvet not only because of its vibrant raspverry red colour, but because it’s as sweet and delicious as black forest cake! It’s seldom I eat or buy red velvet cake, so I like indulging in these homemade red velvet flavoured smoothie bowls I concoct at home!

For all red velvet and black forest cake lovers, this is the recipe for you!

Ingredients

1 frozen banana

1 cup of frozen cauliflower

1 cup of frozen cherries

1 scoop of vanilla protein powder

2 tablespoons of unsweetened or sweetened cocoa powder

1/2-1/3 cup of milk of your choice

*Toppings are optional. I just used toppings, because I thought they would be tasty!

Directions

1. Add the frozen banana, frozen cauliflower, frozen cherries, vanilla protein powder and milk into a food processor or blender. Blend for 60 seconds.

2. Add the cocoa powder and more milk. Blend for another 30 seconds.

3. Serve in a bowl and enjoy! Feel free to add all your favourite toppings and sauces!

7. Creamsicle Smoothie Bowl

Photo taken today from my iPhone.

When I was a child, I loved creamsicles, because it had vanilla ice cream inside! I’m a self-proclaimed ice cream addict, but I also love having popsicles here and there. In my opinion, creamsicles are the best of both worlds: I get to have a popsicle and ice cream all on one wooden stick! I don’t feel the need to keep a whole box of creamsicles in the house, so I figured I would just invent my own version of a creamsicle!

If you love ice cream and popsicles like myself, this is the recipe for you and/or your kids!

Ingredients

1 cup of frozen peaches

1 cup of frozen clementines

1 frozen banana

1 scoop of vanilla protein powder

1/3 cup of plain Greek yogurt, quark, ricotta or cottage cheese (optional for extra creaminess and protein)

1/2-1/3 cup of milk of your choice

Directions

1. Add the frozen peaches, frozen clementines, frozen banana, vanilla protein powder and milk into a blender or food processor. Blend for 60 seconds.

2. Add the optional serving of yogurt, quark, ricotta or cottage cheese and a little more milk if needed. Blend for another 30 seconds if this is the case.

3. Serve into a bowl and dig in!

By Brenda Godinez on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another collection of my smoothie recipes! If you enjoyed this collection, please give it a ❤️, share it with your family and friends, comment and send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more awesome content!

Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal!

IG Profile: @tdwrites24

FB: Talia Devora

By Jeffery Wong on Unsplash

list
21

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Wow, this sounds soooooooo good!

  • yunick jovitta2 years ago

    I NEED the Bubblegum Smoothie Bowl immediately

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    These look very refreshing! Well done

  • Taylor Doyle2 years ago

    these all sound delish! can’t wait to try, thank you for sharing this!

  • Brianna Baez2 years ago

    I think you just changed the breakfast game for me!

  • Thank you for all these recipes! Can't wait to try the Ube one

  • Nour Boustani2 years ago

    Thanks for sharing. Green Pandan is my favorite so far.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Impressive piece!! Loving it!!! Congratulations on top story!💕

  • Yummy and interesting!

  • Loving all these great recipes

  • Corinne Jenkins2 years ago

    I NEED the Bubblegum Smoothie Bowl immediately

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.