Feast logo

Texas Style Hot Buffalo Chicken Dip

Another fantastic way to heat up your Super Bowl!

By Lillianne AshnerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I came across this recipe several years ago, while at a super bowl party in my hometown , Fort Worth , Texas and it was served cold. Now, I know some buffalo dips are served cold, but it inspired me to do my own “Texas style” spin on it .( After all, everythings gotta be bigger and hotter in Texas, right ?)

After trying this, I asked for the recipe, as I just liked it, but felt it needed some zip. So, I made it my own, converted it to hot, and adjusted to make it mind blowing. Now, there are some specifics in this recipe. Trust me, these specifics make a difference, and you’ll be so glad you did and I will explain the why’s behind each.

Frank’s Red Hot Sauce is the very nucleus of this dip! Do not deviate..

Not Texas Pete, not Tabasco. Frank’s, because it gives it several layers of heat and flavor . Trust me, it is no hotter than Texas Pete, but the body of it doesn’t wash out in all the cheese. New York Extra sharp cheddar cheese, yes, I said Extra sharp. Not mild, because extra sharp has a higher melting point, less greasy, and the flavor blends better with all the cheeses. Heavy whipping cream, this is valuable in this dip being hot. It blends beautifully, and keeps your dip from separating when baked. Do not, shorten the amount to save calories, it holds your dip as it bakes. Lastly, shred your chicken with a fork, please do not pulverize or Cuisinart it. It makes your chicken too mealy, and takes away from the body of it with all the cheeses. I have adjusted my recipe over the years, perfecting it, in truth. I started with Texas Pete, but then I found the Holy Grail with Frank’s, for this particular recipe! Now, let’s get the party started! Prep time is about 40 minutes, as you will wait for your chicken to cook thoroughly, in the water.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees

Here is the list of ingredients:

Two chicken breasts

Two packages Cream Cheese, softened (you can also use from Aldi Neufchatel Cheese, less calories and surprisingly does not change the taste or texture.)

½ a stick of butter, softened

1 1/2 cups approximately New York Extra Sharp Cheddar (If you cannot find New York, just get Sargento’s Extra Sharp Cheddar off the block)

1/3 cup approximately Frank’s Red Hot Sauce

½ cup approximately Heavy Whipping Cream

Low Fat Triscuit (it’s only low sodium) or heavy gauge dipping Tortilla chips

Salt and pepper to taste

Boil the chicken breasts in water with salt and pepper to season it. Once it starts to boil, turn down to medium to slow cook until done. Drain off, and shred chicken with a fork. You will have yummy, juicy chicken!

As you soften the cream cheese and butter, just microwave in 15-30 second increments. That is unless you like explosions in your microwave!

Mix the shredded chicken with the butter and cream cheese. Now add in the sharp cheddar, starting with the first cup. Start adding in the Frank’s, starting with ¼ cup. Some like it hotter, so I give grace here! Next, add in, by drizzling the first ¼ cup of heavy cream. Your balance of cream and Frank’s will depend on your heat that you want. The cream will help to keep it all together, as it bakes. Salt and pepper it to taste, and let’s put it into a baking dish.

Bake in the oven until bubbly, at 350 degrees. Approximately 25-35 minutes. Now just serve it up with Low Fat Triscuit (it’s only lower sodium) or Tortilla chips. Please choose heavier gauge chips, as this is a heavier dip. I usually have both for anyone wanting to change it up. I prefer the Triscuit, due to the weight of the dip, but your chips taste just as fabulous! Look, be prepared for running out, I never have leftovers!

recipe
1

About the Creator

Lillianne Ashner

Just a woman, writing her thoughts, no matter how audacious or bodacious it may be... I write in lush and provocative tones of the heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.