Feast logo

TASTE BUDS IN NEED OF SPICES

JAMBALAYA RECIPE TO TAKE

By UNpretentiousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Eating food is a need, we need food to survive and to keep going. Once you enter the land of spices and herbs you realize, it's not just about a need, it's about a pleasure, a desire, the filling of a craving. The first time I cooked anything for a group of people was at my first potluck, I had never been apart of anything cooking wise prior and it made me nervous to know my cooking would be judged by strangers. I had to sit back and think for a minute about what to bring, and then it hit me, the one recipe everyone says I make perfectly is the only thing I would be able to cook for this occasion.

This recipe is such a fond memory but with fears of rejection or negativity I was also afraid of not feeling like I belonged, because I chose the wrong dish. I had never belonged anywhere before this potluck and I didn't want that to continue to be the way I felt. So when I was asked what I was bringing, I said without thinking, Jambalaya. There were questions of how hot it would be as well as questions of tomato's and allergy's to seafood. I hadn't thought about any of these factors but there were so many people that wanted to taste my jambalaya that they allowed me to bring it in.

When making this dish I had to adjust a few of my ingredients, because I was coming from someone that cooked for one or two people, to cooking for 10-15 people and I think I overcooked and still there were no leftovers and people took some home even! I was astonished but it made me feel warm and fuzzy on the inside. This wasn't just some everyday potluck, this was a job potluck and so I still had to see their faces after making something they would job me on for the rest of the job. Instead, when I walk past they will ask me when's the next time i'm making jambalaya and if they could have some. I felt great, but in that moment I noticed so did everyone else, there was food of all kinds in one room, and my food was apart of it, I was apart of something and fit in. Even people that said it was too hot ate it, I couldn't believe what was going on, I just had to accept it and smile. Cheers to a good job and to the coming together of strangers and co-workers.

Jambalaya Recipe

INGREDIENTS :

1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts (cut into cubes)

1/2 pound andouille sausage, diced

1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes

1 cup chicken broth

2 teaspoons hot sauce

1 pound frozen peeled and cooked shrimp

2 cups long grain rice

2 jalapeño peppers minced

2 teaspoons CREOLE/CAJUN seasoning:

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/4 teaspoons dried oregano

1/4 teaspoons dried thyme

DIRECTIONS:

Step 1:

Cook sausage and chicken in saucepan adding 1/3 of creole/cajun seasoning and jalapeño peppers

Step 2:

Allow water to boil before adding long grain rice, add chicken broth and tomatoes

Step 3:

After rice begins to tender, add shrimp and creole/cajun seasoning to pot

Step 4:

Add hot sauce and meats to rice and stir, taste and serve.

This meal is made to make you fill a craving for something hot and filling. This too could become something that you look forward to cooking at events, for potlucks like mine, family events and so much more. Best served with an appetite and a large lemon ice tea. I hope you enjoy, Bon Appétit.

recipe
1

About the Creator

UNpretentious

I choose empathy over sympathy, because I am a problem solver. I’m a dreamer, that wants to be able to help others Grow, Evolve and Dream big safely. BOSS Mentality. Poetic Flow. Unconditional Lover. Artisan & Server Spirit. INFP, thats me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.