Feast logo

Tamales Oaxaqueños

My favorite street food at Chicago's Mexican festivals

By Kyra LopezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Tamales wrapped in banana leaves!

ℭ𝔥𝔦𝔠𝔞𝔤𝔬 𝔉𝔢𝔰𝔱𝔦𝔳𝔞𝔩𝔰

The most notable memories I have of pre-covid life are the summer nights on 18th street. There were myriad Mexican festivals to attend that popped up throughout my vacation months, and for years I had always ventured out to experience the sweet aromas of my comfort foods. From the "Fiesta del Sol" to the "Mole Festival", these events took place in the streets of Chicago's primarily Latinx neighborhoods. Vendors, musicians, and booths full of Mexican wares lined the sidewalks, showing a taste of home for many immigrant families.

A variety of rich culture, originating from my family's home states in Mexico, has now been passed down to me. As an adult, I have embraced these gifts my family has given me through their stories, music, language, and lived experiences. Every time I would go out to participate in these communal events, I was able to extend that important connection to my identity.

If I was looking at the careful hands of the ladies at a food stand making tlacoyos, I would be transported to my grandma's tiny kitchen. Being around these fests reminded me of reconnecting to family, of finding a supportive community, and being in an environment where I felt uplifted. Ultimately, these reflections gave me peace as if I was carrying a part of home wherever I went.

𝔗𝔥𝔢 ℑ𝔪𝔭𝔬𝔯𝔱𝔞𝔫𝔠𝔢 𝔬𝔣 𝔞 𝔅𝔞𝔫𝔞𝔫𝔞 𝔏𝔢𝔞𝔣

When I visited the "Mole Festival" in Pilsen, I would always be drawn to the spots that sold tamales Oaxaqueños. These tamales are made with masa (corn), chicken or pork, mole (moe-lay), and wrapped up in a banana leaves to be steamed. In other parts of Mexico, it is common to see tamales being wrapped in corn husk or made with sweet ingredients as more of a dessert. Depending on the region in Latin American countries, tamal ingredients will greatly differ.

In this case, the use of banana leaves are common in southern Mexican states which make these types of tamales soft and flavorful. Usually, I would purchase tamales verdes (green tamales) stuffed with pork and topped with crema (sour cream) and cheese.

Below is a picture I took my Oaxacan tamal, and it was gone in approximately 2 minutes!

My delicious tamal!

The banana leaves are what makes Oaxacan tamales special, and extremely flavorful. They are prepared by rinsing them and adding in the masa mixture with lime, meat, and mole. Once these tamales are wrapped in the banana leaves, they are steamed for around 2 hours. This entire process takes a lot of time, is created with love, and has become one of my go-to foods during summer nights.

To me, Oaxacan tamales taste like the subtle pieces of my childhood wrapped within the leaves. I feel like I am interwoven to Chicago, to the booths on Cermak, and locked into the quiet hustle of Pilsen. It is a flavor that comforts me, and I hope my readers can feel the same warmth when trying these tamales!

𝔐𝔞𝔨𝔢 𝔰𝔬𝔪𝔢 𝔐𝔢𝔵𝔦𝔠𝔞𝔫 𝔣𝔬𝔬𝔡!

Tamales can vary, depending on the region in Mexico that they are prepared! Not all recipes for making tamales will be the same, but there are some basic ingredients you will need in order to craft your delectable dish!

Ingredients: What to Buy?

Here is a list of some preferred ingredients to make Oaxacan tamales!

  • Pork (solid- varied amount, depending on serving)
  • Garlic, onions, salt
  • Chili peppers (ancho, guajillo- approximately 6-8 of each)
  • Tomatoes (2)
  • Black peppers (4)
  • Package of masa de maiz (masa for tamales)
  • Lard
  • Whole Cloves
  • Banana leaves

Cooking tamales can be a very long and concise process, taking hours or even days, all dependent on the type of tamal you are making. If you are cooking tamales from scratch and carefully mending together each component, then this recipe should be saved for special occassions.

It may be difficult to describe each and every step without a visual example, so I highly recommend following Lizi Guerra's video on YouTube!

Tutorial: Cocinando con Lizi Guerra // Cooking with Lizi Guerra

cuisine
1

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.