Feast logo

Tamale Pie

Comforting, spicy, and delicious.

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Tamale Pie by Amanda Payne

Tamale Pie is a layered cast iron dish of cornbread, red enchilada sauce, spicy seasoned ground meat, and cheddar cheese. Then it is garnished with salsa and sour cream.

This is a complete meal, but salad is a good side option if you need sides. It tastes even better the next day as leftovers.

Yield: 8 Slices of Tamale Pie

Serving Size: 1 Slice of Tamale Pie

Calories: 361

Fat: 14 g

Carbohydrates: 28 g

Protein: 28 g

Tamale Pie Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of White Lily® White Cornmeal Mix
  • 2/3 cup of White Lily® Self-Rising Flour
  • 3 tablespoons of vegetable oil for cornbread layer
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 4 1/2 ounces of chopped green chiles
  • 14.75 ounces of cream style corn
  • 1 teaspoon of grease for cast iron skillet or pan
  • 1 pound of ground meat (I used ground venison)
  • 1 teaspoon of cumin
  • 1 teaspoon of chili powder
  • Dash of salt
  • Dash of ground black pepper
  • 10 ounces of Old El Paso Red Enchilada Sauce, Mild
  • 2 cups of shredded cheese (I used Cheddar)
  • Sour cream (for topping, optional)
  • Salsa (for topping, optional)

Getting It Done:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, mix the cornmeal, flour, and oil. Add the milk and egg. Then fold in the chiles and corn.
  3. Pour into a large greased cast iron skillet and bake until done, which would be about 20 minutes.
  4. While baking the cornbread, fry the ground meat until no longer pink. Drain excess grease if needed.
  5. Add cumin, chili powder, salt, and black pepper to the ground meat. Mix well.
  6. When the cornbread is done, poke holes in it with a knife and pour enchilada sauce over it.
  7. Then top with the ground meat and then the shredded cheese. Place the skillet back in the oven for about 7 minutes or until the cheese is bubbly.
  8. Let it cool and serve with toppings or plain.
Tamale Pie by Amanda Payne

You can use whatever type of ground meat you'd like. Ground beef, venison, chicken, and turkey work well with this recipe. I used venison.

If you fear the recipe might be too spicy, replace the green chilies with petite diced tomatoes and use less or omit the enchilada sauce.

If you do not have a cast iron skillet, you can use any oven-safe skillet or dish.

If you have leftovers, wait until the dish has cooled completely. Then use a spatula to transfer leftovers from the cast iron pan into a container with a lid. It will keep in the refrigerator for up to four days.

I hope you enjoy my recipe!

Check out my Tamale Pie video on Rumble...

Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you enjoy it. I appreciate your support very much.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent recipes: Chili Mac and Cheese, Venison Pepper Soup, and Venison Taco Stew.

Maybe you want a recipe without ground meat. Check out my Super Easy Ham and Potato Casserole recipe.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This Tamala Pie recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
2

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.