Feast logo

Sushi, Service, and a Smile

my favourite restaurant in Kamloops

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
(http://2pos.info/534/2738/arigato-sushi-restaurant)

There are probably half a dozen sushi restaurants, or more, in Kamloops. My boyfriend, J, and I dared to adventure a few weeks ago and try out a Korean-Japanese restaurant neither one of us had been to. Other than that though, we've really only gone to one restaurant for sushi: Arigato Sushi.

I think my favourite part about Arigato is that it's located in the same plaza as my favourite bookstore. Sushi and books, my two greatest loves! (... besides the boyfriend, of course.)

Actually, one of my favourite things about Arigato is the artwork and decor. I know there are two locations in Kamloops, so I can't say for sure if this is the same for both ... but the one we frequent, there are these beautiful pieces of nature-inspired art (I'm not sure if they're photographs or paintings, but they are stunning!) The way the restaurant is laid out as well is so warm and inviting -- which matches the staff members, the friendliness of every person we've met who works at Arigato.

We've mostly eaten at the restaurant, where the service is always incredible. We've also ordered takeout though, and brought it home, which of course means the food isn't as nicely presented ... but really, can J expect the staff to recreate a mountain of tempura yam into a styrofoam container? (In case you're wondering, that is their Rocky Mountain Roll. My boyfriend tries to order something new each time we go, but this is a roll he keeps coming back to quite often. So I imagine it's pretty good ... I can say the tempura yam is excellent!)

No matter where we're eating it, the QUALITY of Arigato's food is always divine. And this is speaking as someone who almost always orders California Rolls (I know, yawn, try something new once in awhile why don't you?). The new restaurant J and I tried, their California Rolls were warm and something about them was off ... I've NEVER had that problem with Arigato.

My favourite non-California Roll thing to order at Arigato? Their Bacon Roll -- yes, you read that right, they wrap the sushi in BACON! How come more restaurants aren't doing this!? I only order this one when I know I'm going straight home afterwards, because it is VERY filling ... but so worth it for the tasty goodness. (Warning though: it comes with two special sauces ... and maybe it's just because the bacon makes the sushi hot, but to me the sauces also seem to be spicier than what I'm used to -- which is 0 spice -- and my mouth is often on fire. I always give the roll a few minutes to calm down before diving in.)

One time when we visited, we were given a complimentary sample of a new roll -- I couldn't tell you what it was called, but it was delicious! Another time, J ordered the Crunch Seafood Roll, and I decided to be adventurous and try one ... it was so yummy I actually ordered it another time for myself! (J wasn't too pleased that I exchanged his seafood roll with one of my Californias -- not fair exchange, lol.)

I don't believe I will love EVERY single item on the menu -- of any restaurant, not just Arigato. But the people, the service, the quality ... the environment of Arigato makes it possible for someone like me, who is often scared to try new foods (thank you anxiety), to believe that whatever food I try will be delightful and MAYBE even good enough to divert me away from my comfort zone of JUST California Rolls every single time I eat there.

"Arigato" is Japanese for "thank you" ... well, let me just say, thank YOU, Arigato Sushi.

restaurants
1

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.