Feast logo

Sugar Cookies

Literally the best cookies I have ever made!

By wildchildPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
A story about never giving up on yourself, and to try try again.

There is one thing that me and my littles love making, and it's cookies. Now I am by no means a master baker. I fully believe in if you have a good attitude while baking it will be amazing in the end. I never used to believe this until my mom made a very good point. My father is the real baker in the family, any baked goods the first time he tries making something it's amazing from the beginning. Now every year around Christmas time, my dad makes the best cookies. He's always tweaking the original recipe and making it his own. Now I'm not the biggest fan of the holidays, actually my family will call me the Grinch of Christmas and honestly I'd have to agree. But me and my mom always say that my dad has the most Christmas spirit and that is why his cookies come out amazing each time. When I was young I just believed I wasn't good at making cookies, that I just didn't have that special touch like my dad. Until I met my now fiancé, and his sweet little angel. Obviously kids naturally love cookies and are typically happy when they get a chance to help out in the kitchen. So for a long time she would beg me to make cookies, and I would always say well lets get your grumpa (that's what my kids call their grandfather.) and you can make cookies with him because I'm not good at making them. But she insisted that me and her needed to make them, so obviously looking at that sweet face how could you say no? I knew that they would probably come out terribly, but it made her happy so I figured why not. So we set up the kitchen kicked her dad out of the kitchen and we went to work. On a side note, I really hate making a mess like it really unnerves me and I typically clean as I go. But when you have a child that wants to help out, messes happen. So even though it unnerved me to watch her spill stuff everywhere I put on a smile and told her she was doing amazing. I don't know about all of you, but I like to ask simple questions to get my kids thinking. Such as if we need 4 cups of flour, and you just put 1 cup in the bowl how many do you need to get to 4 cups? And she really enjoys it, when she gets the answer right you just can see the happiness radiate out of her. So fast forwarding to the final product, we take a bite and I swear it taste just like my dads. I was so surprised we called my dad immediately after and told him all about it! After getting off the phone, my daughter (yes I say my daughter because I have helped raised her for years at this point.) asked me why I felt that our cookies wouldn't come out good. I looked at her, and I told her that I have never been able to make a cookie that ever tasted as good as the ones we made. She sat there for a second taking in what I said. And I will never forget what she told me, she looks at me and goes, "Mom what do you always tell me?" and honestly I blanked for a second, "That we don't say we can't do something, just because we didn't get it the first time or even the third time doesn't mean we won't figure it out eventually. You also tell me I can't say that I can't do something just because it didn't work out the first time." I looked at this sweet little face and she was right. I always tell her just because we didn't succeed the first time, means we give up and not try again. Since then I've tried looking on the brighter side of things, and to start taking my own advice and to relax a little. Messes and learning are apart of life, and it's okay that we don't get it right away. That doesn't mean that we can't learn how to make something amazing in the end.

I hope you all enjoyed my little memory and below is the cookie recipe me and my littles still make to this day!

Your ingredients that you will need!

2 ¾ cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon baking powder

1 cup butter, softened

1 ½ cups white sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

The how to!

So firstly you are going to want to preheat that oven to 375!

Then in a small bowl you're going to want to put your flour, baking powder, and your baking soda and mix it up. Now set that aside, and then you're going to want to take your softened butter and cream that with your sugar. Once it's all nice and creamy add in your egg and your vanilla. Now I know it says a teaspoon of vanilla but if you like a lot of vanilla like we do I put 2 sometimes 3 teaspoons. Once all of that is mixed in well, add your flour mixture slowly. Once it's all put together, place them on a baking sheet for 10 minutes let cool for at least a couple minutes then enjoy!

diy
Like

About the Creator

wildchild

Free loving and have a wide range of topics I enjoy writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.