Feast logo

Salmon Cakes

Delicious!

By Alexandra McCormickPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Salmon Cakes

Hello my little lovelies!

So today I have a recipe for you that just came to me when I was experimenting with some leftovers. I was also curious to do a recipe like this since I was venturing out to cooking new things and honestly it turned out to be a success. I am also trying to be a little healthier since I’m not getting any younger and I need to start taking better care of myself. Because this is a fish recipe, I highly recommend squeezing some lemon over it or adding fresh lemon juice to the mixture. And because salmon is an oily fish there’s no need to use any type of oil with this.

This recipe makes four cakes, and they are perfect to put in salads or if you are just looking for a quick meal to put with a carb or veggie. They are also pretty good as a snack too and you’re trying to be healthy. You could also use this as a burger alternative if you don’t want to eat beef or if you don’t eat beef at all. This is also awesome for meal prep since it’s a patty so it will help retain moisture and flavor. But since it is fish I would eat it in two or three days if you choose to do it for meal prep.

Now if you want to make more than that you’ll have to double the recipe.

Just a few things I wanted to add for this recipe:

- If you don’t have fresh salmon you can use canned salmon but I would recommend that you rinse it first and shred it into smaller pieces using a fork. If you’re going with canned salmon I highly recommend not using a food processor, since the canned salmon is already saturated with liquid and may get too mushy in the process.

- If you don’t have fresh garlic and onion you can use onion powder and garlic powder. I would recommend you use it if you’re using canned salmon so that it doesn’t get too mushy being pureed in the food processor.

- If you don’t like Vidalia onion, I would go with chopped green onion just don’t put it in the food processor with everything else. Just add it after everything else is pureed.

Now let’s get started! For this recipe you will need:

- ½ of a salmon fillet, cubed and skin off

- 2 cloves of garlic, whole

- 1 small Vidalia onion, chopped into quarters

- 1 ½ tbsp. of dried dill (or you can use fresh)

- ½ tbsp. of dried parsley (or you can use fresh)

- 1 egg

- 4 tbsp. of flour

- Salt and pepper to taste

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Put all the ingredients into the food processor.

3. Pulse until it is a little bit thicker than a batter. Smell the mixture and adjust seasonings as needed.

4. Heat up a skillet with a little bit of oil over medium-high heat. Once oil is hot enough add a spoonful of the mixture to the skillet. Maybe two if you want bigger patties. Shape the mixture into a patty with the spoon before it starts browning.

5. Cook about 2-3 minutes per side until it’s nice and brown.

6. Once both sides are browned, transfer to a greased baking sheet and put it in the oven for about 15-20 minutes so the inside will be able to fully cook.

I hope you guys enjoy this recipe and if you like this recipe please consider tipping so I can post more recipes for you guys to try out!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra McCormick

I'm just your average girl who loves food and loves to live life to the fullest. I'm a dog mom with the best dog in the world and learning who I am all over again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.