Feast logo

Pumpkin White-Chocolate Snickerdoodles

Impress the Family

By Courtney SeeverPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Image from https://www.iheartnaptime.net/pumpkin-snickerdoodles/

Shortly before my twenty-first birthday I met my biological father and his five other kids. That same year I was invited to a family Thanksgiving to meet some of the extended family and since I wanted to make a good impression I decided to make a dessert. Part of my decision came from the fact that when I was growing up my step-grandfather and I would make pumpkin pies and/or cookies for various neighbors. My favorite cookies have always been white chocolate macadamia nut because it was the only cookie that had white chocolate and could be picked up just about anywhere. I have always disliked nuts in my baked goods and macadamia nuts stood above the rest because they are so large and take up way too much room. That being said I decided to troll Pinterest for ideas of what dessert to make and found a recipe for Pumpkin White Chocolate Snickerdoodles. These cookies are the perfect solution for any season but particularly the fall season when everybody and their dog wants 'pumpkin spice' everything.

The first time that I made these cookies for my dads side of the family, I made a double batch and didn't have a single cookie left over. There were several people who asked me for the recipe. I hadn't made the cookies again for years because I kept going over board to show off when my mothers side of the family would get together for holidays. That changed this year when I was volunteered to make something sweet for my younger sisters baby shower. Since I knew I would be working overnight the two nights before the party which I would have to travel for. That being said I knew that I needed to pick something simple and easy to pack up, so I went through some of my saved pins from the past and came back across these cookies. Coincidentally, two or three days after I decided I was going to make these cookies again and had gotten all of the ingredients my very pregnant sister texts me saying that she wants pumpkin pie. When I responded that I was already making pumpkin cookies she was overjoyed and said it sounded even better than a pie. Cookies are easier to spread out amongst party guests than pie and everybody gets some. Plus my personal favorite this is that there are no nuts so the cookies are warm and gooey like you wouldn't believe. Below is the recipe I found at https://www.iheartnaptime.net/pumpkin-snickerdoodles/ in addition to the minor adjustments that I made.

1/8 tsp Ginger

3/4 cup Pumpkin puree

1 Egg

2 3/4 cups All-purpose flour **I added a bit extra to the mix to get the desired texture to make things less sticky.**

1 tsp Baking powder

1 tsp Baking soda

4 1/2 tsp Cinnamon **This is just what I used in the cookie mix. Set more aside to roll the dough in before putting it on a baking sheet**

1 1/2 tsp Cream of tarter

1/4 tsp Nutmeg

1 1/4 tsp Pumpkin spice

1/2 tsp Salt

1/2 cup Sugar **I used brown sugar here because of how its described when sugar is mentioned again.**

1 tsp Vanilla

1 cup White chocolate chips **Don't meassure, just use a whole bag it's worth it.**

1 1/2 cups White sugar **Same as cinnamon, this is just what gets mixed into the dough**

1 cup Butter **I melted this in a microwave safe dish before mixing because it makes it easier, but it also makes it stickier than the video**

I mixed the dry ingredients first then added the melted butter, egg and vanilla. Once everything was mixed I ended up having to add flour until I got a consistency that was not too sticky and easy to scoop out to place on the baking sheet. I add the chocolate chips last because otherwise they can get in the way of thoroughly combining the other ingredients. Spray your baking sheet with nonstick spray and spread the dough scoops out evenly because they will spread out. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and bake for 12-13 minutes. Hide some for yourself then set the batch out for everybody to enjoy.

recipe
2

About the Creator

Courtney Seever

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.