Feast logo

Prunes Keep You From Feeling Like A Balloon!

The Stool Soother ...

By Ashley TerrellPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo credit: Heathline

Growing up, I remember my great grandmother boiling prune juice. She would heat the prune juice to a simmer. Then, she would drink it. As I observed, she would excuse herself from the room to return minutes later.

"Why do you drink prune juice, grandma?" I asked.

"Because it helps me 'go', "she would answer. She was referring to her digestion system aging along with her beautiful silver and grey hair.

At a young age, I was discouraged to try prunes or prune juice due to the mild aroma the dark-colored produce. Not to mention, I was not a fan of using the bathroom in 90-degree summer heat with NO central air.

As I became older, I realized the body ages with time. Your knees aren't as young as they use to be. You strain your eyes more to read literature. Your digestive system grumbles thereafter you've eaten rather than prior - I know I'm not the only one!

Knowing what I know now about prunes, I'm more inclined to add the fat-free fruit to my diet lifestyle. I believe you will too!

Prunes are made from dried plums.

The most known prune is the European plum, also known as Prunus domestica. Prunus salicina and Prunus americana are the two other known plums used to produce prunes. All three dried plum categories are classified as freestone plums, which means you can remove the pits.

Prunes are high in potassium.

Potassium and Vitamin K, is essential for your immune system. Potassium performs as an electrolyte aiding in digestion and blood pressure. The vital nutrient also decreases cardiovascular issues and muscle contractions.

Prunes are rich in Vitamin K which is beneficial for bone mineralization.

According to Medical News Today, Potassium found in prunes can help reduce the risk of hypertension.

Photo credit: Stylecraze

Prunes are plentiful of iron.

When I was a child, I suffered from anemia. Anemia relates to low iron deficiency. I played many sports requiring high energy. As a result, my body experiences exhaustion or tiredness. Though I was a green vegetable lover, I appreciate knowing prunes are an alternative to boost my iron level.

Prunes are great as a midday snack for me because my mornings are packed with marketing meetings and conference calls. The low glycemic index fruit gives me that extra push I need to get me through the [second half of my] day.

Prunes can improve your cardiovascular system.

Wait until you get ahold of this!

According to a research study executed by Texas A & M University and the University of North Carolina proved consuming prunes can help good bacteria throughout the colon.

Prunes are rich in antioxidants, like phenolic compounds, which minimizes the risks of cardiovascular diseases, high cholesterol levels, and reduces the production of atherosclerosis.

Photo credit: Agrivibes

Toilet says, "Relax your muscles..."

Yup, Grandma was right!

Prunes move you - like a good motion picture!

This multi-faceted fruit contains sorbitol which acts as a laxative. Sorbitol is sugar-based alcohol found in prunes. The sugar-based alcohol can also be found in sodas and chewing gum.

The dark-colored fruit is high in sugar and fiber. Sugar and fiber work together to prevent hemorrhoids which are brought on by constipation.

Here are a few ways you can add prunes to your diet lifestyle...

Snack on a few after a gym workout or a run in the park!

Prunes are a great source for minerals, like zinc, magnesium, and potassium. These essential minerals prevent muscle stiffness which can occur after a good workout.

According to Healthline, a study showed consuming prunes can decrease bone mass in postmenopausal women participants.

Prunes contain boron which helps develop bones and muscles. Additionally, boron helps improve muscle coordination.

Here's my way of packing prunes into my daily food menu:

Happy eating!

healthy
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Terrell

Bestselling author. Entrepreneur. Seasonings and spices saved my life. Where sheep and angels share the same color. Newport News, VA. Conqueror and lover of all things Fine Arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.