Feast logo

Parade S'mores Cookies

A new Christmas tradition

By Alisha AllenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Boulder City NV Parade

Parade Smores Cookies

By Alisha Allen

It seems that many people have that special cookie that mom always made at Christmas time. For most it’s sugar cookies! For others it’s gingerbread men or snickerdoodles. I always wanted my kids to grow up and talk about that special cookie their mom always made during the holidays with their friends and significant others. I just couldn’t figure out what that special cookie would be, until a couple of years ago at the Boulder City, NV Christmas Parade.

A couple of years ago I was living at my old residence in Henderson NV. I was trying to figure out a good Christmas activity for the family. Then one night I saw on Facebook that the town only twenty minutes away from us, Boulder City, NV was doing a Christmas Parade that following Saturday. I love parades and I knew my kids would love it as well. I also saw on the ad that the City Hall building would be roasting smores there, as well. My kids had never had s’mores before, and I thought that would be the ideal place for them to try their first one. So, I brought it up with my husband and we agreed to go. That following Saturday we went to the parade. My kids sure enjoyed the floats, the banners, and the balloons, but their favorite part about that day was the smores! They loved them so much that my eldest asked me if I could make those in cookie form. I got so excited that the following day I got out a baking book that I had as a kid. There was a smores cookie recipe in there just as I had remembered. So, I spent that Sunday baking. My kids loved them! That was when I decided that smores cookies would be my special cookie that they would talk about later when they grow up. Here is the recipe:

¾ cup unsalted butter, browned and cooled

1 cup light brown sugar, packed

1/3 cup cane sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

2 tsp. vanilla extract

¾ tsp. sea salt

1 ¾ cup unbleached flour

¾ tsp. baking soda

1 cup chocolate chips

1 Hershey’s Chocolate Bar

4 sheets Graham Crackers

I bag Marshmallows

Heat butter in a saucepan all the way, until melted and gives off a nutty aroma. Turn off the stove and allow to cool completely.

In a mixing bowl combine the cooled butter, brown sugar, organic sugar and whisk until well blended. Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla and mix well. Add the flour, baking soda, and sea salt

And fold until well combined. Add the chocolate chips, cut up Hershey’s bar, and crumbled graham crackers and mix until well combined.

Scoop out the cookies using a 1 oz cookie scoop. Place your thumb in the middle to form a cavity and place half a marshmallow inside. Release the ball from the cookie scoop and roll together so that the marshmallow is covered. Repeat with remaining dough. Refrigerate cookie dough balls for at least one hour or overnight.

Preheat the oven to 350 F when you are ready to bake. Place the cookies 2 inches apart on the cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 12-14 minutes or at least until the edges are golden brown and make sure the center is still gooey. Allow to cool, then enjoy.

This is my special Christmas cookie recipe. I hope each of you have your own. For those of you who haven’t found it yet, keep trying! The day will come when you know which is your special one, just like I did. In the meantime, try my recipe and enjoy!

recipe
1

About the Creator

Alisha Allen

I am a published author, former model, aspiring entrepreneur, screenwriter, and the most important job, a mother of two. I grew up in Las Vegas NV, however I just recently moved to Mesquite NV.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.