Feast logo

Nice To Meet You, Tofu...

The All-In-One Food

By Ashley TerrellPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Nice To Meet You, Tofu...
Photo by Sherman Kwan on Unsplash

I remember my first night working for a new restaurant in my hometown. To be honest, I was surprised there was a new restaurant premiering on one of the busiest streets of downtown Portsmouth, Virginia. Downtown Portsmouth was known to have multi-cultural restaurants along High Street, so I was shocked there was room for one more.

The grand opening of the new international restaurant had the surrounding communities excited as the restaurant owners posted an early preview as a treat to dogwalkers and busy caregivers in the park.

As we discuss [staff plans for] opening night, I remember glancing at the menu to discover fried BBQ tofu was on the menu.

At that time, the majority of my diet was plant-based and packed with a variety of vegetables and legumes. I was aware tofu was a meat replacement vegans and vegetarians recommended. At the end of my shift, I treated my taste buds to try the tantalizing appetizer.

I watched from the expo station as the owner lightly coats the firm cubed tofu in breadcrumbs and dropped it into the sizzling oil. Moments later, my eyes are greeted with the sight of golden brown crispy cubes dressed in not-so-special barbecue sauce, no garnish or drizzle to make my taste buds forfeit my curiosity.

By Andrew Haimerl (ANDREWNEF) on Unsplash

I'll be honest. I wanted to tell the restaurant owner, "Oh, hell naw, what do you call this?" I didn't. Modestly, I took my first bite.

Why did I think tofu was going to taste similar to a marshmallow? I thought.

Perhaps it's the pale color tofu shares with marshmallows - I don't know.

After a night of smiling faces, gracious tips, and polite feedback regarding my hospitality, I understand their feedback about the menu options was so mediocre!

Anyone can go to the store to shop for groceries. However, that doesn't mean everyone understands the elegance and intellect that comes forth with presenting food dishes - especially on a menu.

The imbalanced menu didn't contribute to my dislike of tofu. It was the lack of knowledge I had prior to trying to that endorsed my dislike for the texture and taste.

Decades later, I've enjoyed creating recipes with plant-based and meat alternatives, like tofu! As I became older, my digestive system takes longer to process foods, like red meat.

Am I the only one?

Wanting to discover [food] alternatives that are nutritious as well as filling? Look no further.

Here are the 'tofu basics'.

Aside from knowing tofu for being a meat-alternative, tofu is made from soybeans, water, and a curdling agent, like magnesium chloride or calcium sulfate.

As known as soybean curd, tofu is high in protein, calcium, and iron. Tofu possesses a high water content.

On the contrary, the sponge-imitating alternative is low in calories and fat.

Tofu is here for you.

I had no idea tofu was packed with antioxidants!

Antioxidants are essential for hair, skin, and nails. Antioxidants boost immunity, protect against skin damage, and cell development.

Eating isoflavone-enriched foods, like tofu, can reduce LGL "bad" cholesterol levels.

Studies with post-menopausal women participants showed consuming isoflavone enriched foods lowered blood sugar levels by 15%. Additionally, participants' insulin levels were reduced by 23% and reduced symptoms of menopause, like hot flashes.

The gluten-free food contains anti-nutrients, also known as "soya", a plant protein packed with all nine amino acids, which are important for immunity.

Phytates found in tofu can reduce the development of kidney stones.

Natural compounds, such as isoflavones and saponins, protect against oxidative stress and damage.

Clinical studies genistein found in tofu has antioxidant properties that can lessen the growth of cancer cells.

By Eiliv-Sonas Aceron on Unsplash

Shop and choose your tofu ranging on what you're cooking!

The bean curd became popular in Western vegetarian and vegan cooking.

For example, when I make miso soup, I like to use silken or soft tofu. My friends like to use firm tofu for cajun tofu steaks. The texture of tofu elevates your cooking dishes.

Tofo is shelf-stable and pantry-friendly. Preserve the remaining tofu in water until you use it. Be sure to change the water preserving the tofu to extend its life.

Which tofu texture do you recommend for stir-frying, grilling, or cooking?

Let's discuss it below!

vegetarian
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Terrell

Bestselling author. Entrepreneur. Seasonings and spices saved my life. Where sheep and angels share the same color. Newport News, VA. Conqueror and lover of all things Fine Arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.