Feast logo

Nacho Salad

My head says gym, but my heart says nachos.

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
3
Nacho Salad by Amanda Payne

Nacho Salad is made with delicious taco-flavored meat on tortilla chips and then drizzled with a delicious homemade cheese sauce. Then it is topped with fresh tomatoes, lettuce, jalapeños, or whatever your heart desires.

Nachos are awesome! Did you know National Nacho Day is November 6th? I cannot think of a better reason to celebrate. I have always loved all things nachos. I remember getting nachos and cheese for lunch at school with a side of fruit and a cookie. Yummy! Those were the good old days.

This is another one of my simple recipes. It takes just over 10 minutes to make this delicious home-cooked meal for eight...or for four people if your family eats like mine.

Serves: 8

Serving Size: 7 chips, 1/4 cup meat, 1/4 cup of cheese sauce

Calories: 350

Fat: 18 g

Carbohydrates: 39 g

Protein: 51 g

The nutrition facts above do not include the toppings. Whatever changes you make to your Nacho Salad, you can recalculate the nutrition facts at myfitnesspal.com. Also, if the yield is too large, you can use a recipe divider online to get the right ingredients for the desired amount.

Nacho Salad Recipe

Ingredients:

Nacho Meat

  • 2 pounds of ground meat (beef, chicken, turkey, venison, etc...)
  • 4 teaspoons of chili powder
  • 2 1/5 teaspoons of ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon of paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon of garlic or garlic powder
  • 4 teaspoons of minced onion or onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 cup of water

Nacho Cheese Sauce

  • 8 ounces of shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 tablespoon of corn starch
  • 12 ounces of evaporated milk
  • 3 tablespoons of diced jalapeños
  • 1 tablespoon of Sriracha sauce
  • 1 teaspoon of onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt

Nacho Chips

  • 1 bag of Tostitos® Original Restaurant Style Tortilla Chips

Topping (optional)

  • Shredded lettuce
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • Jalapeños, diced
  • Sour cream

Getting It Done:

  1. First, heat a frying pan to medium-high heat. Fry the ground meat, breaking it up as it fries until no longer pink. Remove any excess grease.
  2. Add 4 teaspoons of chili powder, 2 1/5 teaspoons of ground cumin, 1/2 teaspoon of paprika, 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, 1/2 teaspoon of garlic or garlic powder, 4 teaspoons of minced onion or onion powder, 1/2 teaspoon of dried oregano, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 cup of water.
  3. Mix well and heat for two minutes. Turn the heat to low and keep it warm.
  4. Next, make the cheese sauce. Add 8 ounces of shredded cheddar cheese, 1 tablespoon of corn starch, 12 ounces of evaporated milk, 3 tablespoons of diced jalapeños, 1 tablespoon of Sriracha sauce, 1 teaspoon of onion powder, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, and 1/4 teaspoon of salt to a saucepan.
  5. Mix well and heat, and whisk on low heat until the cheese sauce is nice and creamy. If it’s too thick, add more evaporated milk or milk.
  6. Place a serving size of about 7 tortilla chips in a bowl or plate, sprinkle with 1/4 cup meat, then pour 1/4 cup of cheese over the meat and chips. Now top with tomatoes, lettuce, a dollop of sour cream, jalapeños, or whatever your heart desires.

For this recipe, I used ground venison. You can use beef, chicken, turkey, or any other type of ground meat that you prefer or have on hand.

I also use my homemade seasoning but can use your favorite brand of taco seasoning from the store if you wish. I like to make it myself because it seems to have a better flavor and saves money.

If you are not into toppings, leave them off and enjoy!

Nachos and Cheese by Amanda Payne

I hope you enjoy my recipe! Sharing is caring so please share my recipe if you like it. I appreciate your support very much.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent recipes: Tamale Pie, Venison Queso, and Pressure Cooker Tacos.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This Nacho Salad recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne, so my recipes will show up in your feed. Sign-up is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
3

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.