Feast logo

My favorite summer food

I love to eat :)

By April LiaoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
My favorite summer food
Photo by Mike Dorner on Unsplash

If I had to choose one , what would it be ? Would it be a impossible burger, or maybe a beyond there are so many choices now that it’s amazing really . There is gardein they have whole roasts and fish fillets. The world of veganism is really taking storm. Then you have to think am I choosing for taste or for health ? Then to decide if you want something cold or hot . I’d say the thing I’m wanting to try most is a vegan pastie with beyond meat at universal . But can I call it my favorite if I haven’t tried it yet?

So I’ll talk on a recent thing I concocted and it was more delicious than I thought. I made potato salad and it was the most delicious thing I’ve ever made . I put four potato’s in a pan with three stalks of green onion . I also boiled dill, parsley, purple onion, and rosemary. I had fresh lettuce, onion, and strawberries roll into the lettuce leaves with the potato salad . Typically I like to use red or gold potatos not russet they usually smell moldy. And if they smell moldy they taste that way . Then once the potato’s are done cooking. I add in to the mixture already cooked . I put more dill, green onion, mustard, parsley, purple onion, and then date syrup. Then you let it cool . You then add the cooled mixture to the lettuce and some chopped cucumber,onion, strawberries and drizzle mustard, sriracha and ketchup. When I tell you it is so flavorful I’m not kidding . I’d usually also add carrots, and celery. Sometimes I like to add apples too .

To make the flavor even bolder sometimes you can add two different types of mustard . The types I usually add are Dijon and yellow mustard . Vinegar is also a addition but I didn’t this time and you can add Himalayan sea salt and pepper too. The fun part with the roll ups . Is you can pick a lot of veggies and it will taste good with the potato salad . Making it healthy because there is no oil and tons of nutrition in play inside of one meal . Potato’s also being one of the highest sources of potassium. Also adding bulk fiber heart healthy and blood thinning good to heal your arteries , blood vessels, and to clean out the cholesterol inside of your blood. A diet high in healthy foods not only helps you look better but it also gets rid of a lot of diseases inside the body.

Cleaning out the blood in your body helps others with illness too. Vegan blood has been found to help cure cancer . If you want to make a difference in the world no only through finances . Having a healthy body is important . You could add any vegetables you want . Making it not only versatile but something you can be creative with . Sometimes too add a feta like aspect I added not cooked tofu and just crumble it with my hands . But right now I’m working on cutting out oil . So tofu would not be added for two weeks . Dr mcdougall says the fat you eat is the fat you wear . That’s what makes this powerhouse my favorite of the summer . I am so amazed also at the different directions this could take.

You could use different kinds of potato’s . They all have a different flavor . If the potato is more floral you could add notes like cilantro . You could also use different vegetables or fruits. I am imagining right now sprouts like alfalfa in with it . Maybe it could have a different spin entirely . If I was using sprouts Im adding mango. And if I add mango I’m using a pepper maybe a jalapeño. Then I’d add salt cracked black pepper and for this type of potato salad definently yellow mustard . I’d add green onion and maybe a more subtle white onion. Then instead of dill I’d add salsa and spinach raw maybe some carrots . For some reason I keep feeling like fresh mint would be a good addition. I’d lots of cilantro and maybe some fresh lime juice and chop avocado. And roast some tomato in garlic and id eat asparagus with it .

There are so many ways to make potato salad and you can eat it hot . You can also eat it cold . There is not limit to combinations that you could enjoy . And that is what makes potato salad the best summer food .

humanity
Like

About the Creator

April Liao

Greetings and salutations ,

I am April I’m 31 years old , and I have a wide array of interests .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.