Feast logo

McPlant Burger Review

An honest review of McDonald’s new vegan burger.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I’ve been vegetarian for three months. I always keep an eye out for stuff that is either vegan or plant-based. That way, if it is suitable for vegans, than it is safe for vegetarians too. I’ve read in the newspaper that meat consumption has declined and major chains are now adding more plant-based foods on their menu. Wagamama currently has a 50% plant-based menu. McDonalds has followed suit with the new McPlant burger.

My views on McDonalds is mixed. I used to love going there as a kid, (who didn’t when they were kid) for the Happy Meal toys. Now, I just go once in a while. However, I’ve been to McDonalds in a lot of other countries and locations and found whilst some of their food tastes the same wherever you are, a lot of the location exclusive burgers were nice. For me, McDonalds is the sort of place people go to eat when they’re broke but want to hang out.

Despite that, I was enthusiastic about this burger because it meant it was a step in the right direction. It’s great to see more plant-based stuff availible now. It’s one trend that I fully support.

As soon as I head this was coming out, I wanted to try it straight away. A few weeks ago, I was disappointed to see that I couldn’t find it on the menu. It was because it was only released in Coventry and then eventually onto the menu of over 200 locations. I was in Birmingham on Saturday, and luckily this was one of the locations where it had it.

I do hope that the McPlant burger will be availible all across the UK. Choices are limited for a vegetarian at McDonalds, even though I didn’t like it tha much, at least I know I will have something to eat when I am at McDonalds with my friends. Who knows, maybe the next one I have will taste a lot better than the one I had in Birmingham.

I watied a while for mine because the restaurant was busy. It’s in the middle of the city centre, so it was always gonna be jam-packed. I also think cause mine was the vegan burger, they probally had to cook it with different stuff so that takes time.

I’ve seen people in vegan groups rave about how amazing this burger is. Also seen some meat eaters enjoy this as well. Personally, I think this is poor compared to other plant-based burgers I’ve had. I can’t tell what the mock meat is based on, and I thought the overall texture of the burger was sloppy and it tasted really bland. It’s also really messy. I think when I order it again, maybe I’ll see if I can get less stuff on it. I don’t mind messy burgers when they taste nice, but this was awkward mess. I was disappointed in this burger, but if hepls reduce the meat consumption, than I guess it’s served it’s purpose.

I’m not sure if I will order this again. I might if I am passing by and it’s availible, but I don’t think it’s worth the effort and journey to try one. Besides, there are lots of little and big food places out there wo are happy to cater to vegans nowadays. I am now learning that some plant-based foods are a lot better than others. I think the best plant-based burger I ever had was a burger from Hogless Roast At Vegan Campout. I’m sure any place you go to that has plant-based burgers will taste a whole lot nicer than the ones from McDonalds.

product review
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.