Feast logo

McMullan's Irish pub

One of the few, true great pubs in Las Vegas

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6
I do not own the picture above, no copyright intended

I'll be honest, at first I was going to skip this submission to "local eats" challenge. That was until I got a random text during my work day by a fellow vocal author Megan. She's a good friend of mine whose profile I have just attached as a link.

At first I really couldn't think of any restaurant to write about, Megan and I decided to brainstorm together. However the bar-cade "Hi-scores" was a covid-19 casualty and is no longer in business. I then cracked a joke about how I'd just make this article about In-N-Out burger or some other restaurant as popular as them. But randomly, I got a spark of inspiration. I hadn't thought about my 21st birthday, which was actually spent at McMullan's with my family. This was arguably my top 3 favorite birthdays.

As a brief reminder I was born and raised in Las Vegas and at the time of this article's publishing I'm not going anywhere any time soon. I get asked all the time from people who are stunned I've never truly left Vegas, if I would ever want to leave. Don't get me wrong I'd love to travel the globe and see with my two eyes some of the most amazing landmarks the world has to offer. But at the end of the day Vegas is my home. I can't leave, I won't leave. Why Places like McMullan's is one of many reasons I refuse to ever depart from Vegas.

History

I won't be able to do McMullan's justice, so let's let them explain who they are. This was taken directly from their website. "The McMullan family welcomes you & yours to their little slice of Irish heaven that the Las Vegas Weekly calls "The Best Irish Restaurant in The West." If you fancy a taste of the ultimate authentic Irish Pub experience, come on by! Enjoy Excellent Food, Perfect Pints, Live Music, Fun and Gaming!"

The first thing you see entering the pub

Food

If you come to McMullan's to eat, I only have one bit of advice for you. Make sure you come hungry! I know that's a super clique line but I don't care. I've yet to find a restaurant with this much good food, with the crazy portions they have, but don't sacrifice taste just for sheer volume. My top 3 orders are their fish and chips, their Irish nachos, then their corned beef and cabbage. But there's still so much incredible food that you just have to be there and experience for yourself the next time you are in Las Vegas. Also before I forget don't forget to ask for a box, there will be leftovers yet they still taste as amazing the following day.

by law you must order fish and chips at a pub
Their amazing Irish nachos that are somehow even bigger in real life

Drinks

Back to my 21st birthday, the very first drink I ever ordered was a pint of Guinness here at McMullan's. I've been in love with Guinness ever since and I'll never forget how great that first beer felt. Now yes everyone has their own taste, and there are a lot of beers I do not like. But that's irrelevant. When you go here you must order at the very least, one pint of Guinness. Really get to experience freshly poured Guinness from the tap, handled with great care. You'll get the optimal amount of foam every time. Trust me.

The perfect pour I could ask for

Events

Of course this was all prior to the pandemic, however I did want to mention that once we get back to life as normal. I can't wait to go back to their live events. From the standard trivia nights, to live music, and of course the cheers of the patrons watching the games. I've yet to have a negative experience at this pub, and I don't foresee any in the horizon. Just more happy memories to be made with some great food, great drinks, and an amazing atmosphere.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics. Feel free to give those other articles a read or two. Also if you'd be so kind, I'd greatly appreciate a heart and if you really feel so inclined tips are always appreciated but by no means required.

restaurants
6

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.