Feast logo

Make Your Game Day Party Shine with a Chili Bar

Chili Bar and an Ice Cream Bar Accommodate Everyone's Dietary Needs

By Rose Bak Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Image by kalhh from Pixabay

If you’re looking for a great food idea for your Super Bowl party, look no farther. Here’s a great idea for a no muss, no fuss meal that will leave you plenty of time to enjoy the big game

Whenever I host a big event, my go-to is my famous chili bar and brownie sundae bar combination. It’s easily customizable for every guest and can be ramped up or down depending on the size of your guest list.

And best of all, it won’t break the bank. The chili and sundae bars can be made for a relatively low cost, and best of all, you probably already have many of the ingredients in your pantry.

The beauty of these food bars is that they meet everyone’s dietary needs. If your guests are vegetarian, vegan, keto, gluten-free, or have other dietary restrictions, they can still get a great meal out of these customizable food bars.

Here’s how to get ready for the big day:

Step One: Cook the Chili

First, I start off by making chili in the crockpot. It’s great because it can handle a big quantity and once you dump in all the ingredients, there’s really nothing else for you to do until it’s time to eat.

There are a zillion recipes on the internet, but I like to keep it simple. Full disclosure, I am not one for measuring ingredients, I just throw it all in and let the magical alchemy happen.

First, I brown some onions and garlic cloves in a bit of oil.

Then, I brown some low-fat ground beef in a little bit of oil. I do this in a separate pan if there will be vegetarians present, but if not, I cook it with the onions and garlic.

Then I put the following ingredients in the crockpot:

Canned beans: a can of kidney and a can of black, drain first to reduce sodium

Browned onions

Browned garlic

Tomatoes: I usually use a can of whole tomatoes, a can of diced tomatoes, and a can of tomato sauce to add variety and texture, but you can skip the whole tomatoes and just used a can of diced and a can of tomato sauce.

Corn: canned or frozen

Green bell pepper: chopped super small

Spices: I toss in chili powder, cumin, paprika, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes and oregano. I keep the spices mild for the more sensitive guests. You can also use a prepared “chili spices” pack.

Protein: If everyone is a carnivore, I add the ground beef to the pot. If not, I keep it separate.

Can of beer: the alcohol will cook off, but if you have people in recovery or children joining you, you may want to skip this ingredient

Kale: shred into tiny pieces, it’s a great way to sneak in some greens

Vegetarian broth: I usually get one of those rectangular cartons and dump the whole thing in. You can also use beef broth if there are no vegetarians in your group.

Then I put the lid on and let the whole thing cook in the crockpot for at least four to five hours. I like to cook my chili long and slow to let the flavors fully blend.

Step 2: Potatoes

About 90 minutes before I want to serve, I bake some potatoes. I like to offer more than one kind. I take a high starch potato like a russet, as well as some sweet potatoes, and wash them thoroughly to remove dirt.

Then I pre-heat the oven to 425, pierce the skins with a fork, and cook the potatoes until they are soft inside. This usually takes about an hour or so.

Step 3: The Bar

The beauty of the chili bar is how customizable it is. Guests can add toppings and customize as they choose. I put out a bunch of add-ons in little bowls for people to choose from. Here are some ideas I like to offer:

• Shredded cheese

• Jalapenos or other sliced hot peppers

• Diced green onions or scallions

• Diced ham

• Avocado slices

• Roasted or steamed broccoli

• Hot sauce

• Soy curls

• Bacon (make it fresh and crumble it if you can, if not, use bacon bits)

• Sour cream

• Black olives

• Tortilla chips

• Fresh cilantro

• Lime wedges

• Diced tomatoes

• Crusty bread

• Browned ground beef (it not cooked in the chili pot)

• Red pepper flakes

• Chili powder

Step 4: Putting it all together

When it’s time to eat, I provide my guests with a large bowl and a sturdy spoon. They can either use the chili to top a potato, or just have chili in the bowl.

Guests can then customize their chili to their particular tastes by going through the topping bar and adding as many of the toppings as they like.

Ideas for Drink Pairings

Here are some ideas for drinks that pair well with chili. The right drink will be light and refreshing and off-set the heaviness of the chili.

• Beer: chili and cold beer are always a winning combination. Try a stout or a porter.

• Red wine: try a malbec, shiraz, or a cabernet sauvignon

• Margaritas: blend up a refreshing batch in your blender

• Lemonade: choose one that’s low in sugar or make your own

• Apple cider

• Water and flavored waters

• Soda: try Sprite, Dr. Pepper or Coke

And for Dessert….

After everyone has had their fill of chili, I like to keep with the theme and serve up a brownie sundae bar. Here’s what I do:

• Offer one or two of the blander flavors of ice cream. I like to go with the classics: chocolate and vanilla. If you’ve got a vegan in your midst try a Coconut-based faux ice cream.

• Brownies. I either buy sliced brownies or brownie bites from the bakery section of the grocery store.

• Toppings galore, including:

o Chocolate sauce

o Caramel sauce

o Chopped nuts: peanut or walnut

o Whipped cream

o Sprinkles (rainbow sprinkles are the best)

o M&Ms

o Crumbled up peanut butter cups

o Sliced fresh strawberries

o Maraschino cherries

o Gummy bears

o Frozen green grapes

Final Thoughts

The chili bar and brownie sundae bar combination is guaranteed to be a big hit with your guests. It’s a great way to let guests customize their meal in a way that works for them. Enjoy the big game!

recipe
1

About the Creator

Rose Bak

Rose Bak is a writer, author & yoga teacher who writes on a diverse range of topics. She is also a published author of romantic fiction. Visit Rose's website at rosebakenterprises.com or follow her on social media @AuthorRoseBak.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.