Feast logo

Macro Friendly Lo Mein

Yes, it's as good as take out! (Just better macros)

By Rhianon CondelloPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

If this is your first visit to my recipes, welcome! If you are a returner, thank you!

I am a true believer that the world of food should be open to a person and moderation in all things is a great way to live life, that’s why I specialize in creating macro-friendly recipes that are much easier to “fit” in moderation.

As you get to know me, you will find that all my recipes use a moderate to few amount of ingredients because I also believe that cooking should be stress free and not break the budget. I encourage that for all of my recipes you look into buying frozen rather than fresh to promote longevity of each food item if you do not use it again right away.

I would also love to hear your personal spin on any of my recipes! As always, have fun and please enjoy!

My inspiration for this recipe is my brother, he’s trying to have a healthier lifestyle but doesn’t like to cook and often restricts too much. He said to me he wanted noodles and then went to where most good habits go to die, to go order out. Yes, after I developed this recipe I made it for him and...he gave it two thumbs up, just stating less veggies more noodles so those modifications are found in my recipe below!

In this recipe you will find a light, protein packed, genuinely flavorful, far less calorie, Lo Mein! This pasta base is incredibly versatile for many different renditions of this recipe. Have fun with adding different sauces and spices! As I said above, I would love to hear your exciting spins on my recipes! I hope it makes enjoying Asian inspired food a whole lot easier to fit into your routine!

This recipe is suitable for bariatric patients, body builders, anyone who is practicing moderation or just someone looking for a delicious and light Asian inspired classic!

For more macro-friendly recipes, lifestyle posts and bodybuilding posts feel free to follow my Instagr am @boho_nutrition!

Servings

Makes 1 Serving

Cookware required

Skillet

Prep Time

Approx. 15 min

Cooking Time

Approx. 10 min

Total Time

Approx. 25 min

Difficulty Level

Easy

Ingredients

For the noodle base

1 package (226g) shirataki noodles

Olive oil spray

½ clove garlic, minced (feel free to substitute with garlic powder)

½ C (50g) mushrooms

½ C (35g) red bell pepper, chopped

1/4 C (25g) carrots, julienned

1/4 C (21g) sweet peas

½ C (11g) greens (spring mix is what I used)

3 medium (39g) celery

3oz of shrimp

For The Sauce

1 Tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce (to taste, I like things salty)

1/8 tsp Stevia (or other no calorie sweetener of choice)

1/2 tsp Olive oil

1/8 tsp ground ginger

*If you like spicy Lo Mein feel free to add Sriracha to taste

Sauce Alternative

100g G. Hughes Sweet Chili Sauce

*Had to add this modification if you are a sweet and spicy kind of person, like me! (I’ve included the nutrition information for that modification as well!)

Directions

-Mix all sauce ingredients in a bowl till well combined

-Strain and rinse noodles

(Be warned if this is your first experience with shirataki noodle alternatives they have a scent until you rinse them well!)

-Spray skillet or wok with olive oil spray (2 second spray) and heat on medium

-Pan fry the noodles for approx 3 minutes and set aside

-Saute garlic, mushrooms, peppers and carrots, cook till soft, approx 3 minutes

-Spray pan again to prevent sticking (another 2 second spray)

-Add snow peas and spinach stir for another 3 minutes until spinach is soft

-Add Better than Pasta noodles in with the vegetables and cover with your sauce of choice

-Stir till sauce is evenly dispersed

-Serve and enjoy!

I hope this gets saved to your “will make again” list! This recipe is a light, veggie packed dish for any meal!

(everyone has different tastes and I respect that, please let me know how you feel if you try this recipe!)

Nutrition Facts

For entire dish with traditional Lo Mein sauce

Calories 220 kcal

Fat 6g

Carbs 26g

Protein 17g

Nutrition Facts

For entire dish with Sweet Chili Sauce

Calories 215 kcal

Fat 4g

Carbs 33g

Protein 17g

Compared to P.F. Chang’s Shrimp Lo Mein:

Calories 850 kcal

Fat 18g

Carbs 126g

Protein 43g

Feel free to tell your friends all about my recipes, I’d appreciate it!

Tag me in any recipes you try!! @boho_nutrition

(I would love to hear your honest reviews positive or negative!)

Just a reminder: for more macro-friendly recipes, lifestyle posts and bodybuilding posts feel free to follow my Instagram @boho_nutrition!

Rhianon Condello RDN, BSN, RN

recipe
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.